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IN GENERAL

§ 70.01  DEFINITIONS.

For the purpose of this chapter, the following words and phrases shall have the following meanings
ascribed to them respectively.

ALLEY.  A public way within a block, generally giving access to the rear of lots or buildings, and
not used for general traffic circulation. (ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 1-102)

ARTERIAL STREET.  Any U.S. or state numbered route, controlled-access highway, or other
major radial or circumferential street or highway designated by local authorities within their respective
jurisdictions as part of a major arterial system of streets or highways. (ILCS Ch. 70, Act 1205, § 3-9)

AUTHORIZED EMERGENCY VEHICLE.  Emergency vehicles of city departments or public
service corporations as are designated or authorized by proper local authorities; police vehicles; vehicles
of the Fire Department; vehicles of a HazMat or technical rescue team authorized by a county board
under § 5-1127 of the Counties Code (ILCS Ch. 55, Act 5, § 5-1127); ambulances; vehicles of the
Illinois Department of Corrections; vehicles of the Illinois Department of Juvenile Justice; vehicles of
the Illinois Emergency Management Agency; vehicles of the Office of the Illinois State Fire Marshal;
mine rescue and explosives emergency response vehicles of the Department of Natural Resources;
vehicles of the Illinois Department of Public Health; vehicles of the Illinois State Toll Highway Authority
with a gross vehicle weight rating of 9,000 pounds or more and those identified as Highway Emergency
Lane Patrol; vehicles of the Illinois Department of Transportation identified as Emergency Traffic Patrol;
and vehicles of a municipal or county emergency services and disaster agency, as defined by the Illinois
Emergency Management Agency Act. (ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 1-105)

AUTOCYCLE. A three-wheel motor vehicle that has a steering wheel and seating that does not
require the operator to straddle or sit astride it. (ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 1-104.2)

BICYCLE.  Every device propelled by human power upon which any person may ride, having two
tandem wheels except scooters and similar devices. (ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 1-106)

BUS.  Every motor vehicle, other than a commuter van, designed for carrying more than ten
persons. (ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 1-107)

BUSINESS DISTRICT.  The territory contiguous to and including a highway when within 600 feet
along the highway there are buildings in use for business or industrial purposes, including but not limited
to hotels, banks, or office buildings, railroad stations, and public buildings which occupy at least 300
feet of frontage on one side, or 300 feet collectively on both sides of the highway. (ILCS Ch. 625, Act
5, § 1-108)
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General Provisions 5

COMMERCIAL VEHICLE.  Any vehicle operated for the transportation of persons or property in
the furtherance of any commercial or industrial enterprise, for-hire or not-for-hire, but not including a
commuter van, a vehicle used in a ridesharing arrangement when being used for that purpose, or a
recreational vehicle not being used commercially. (ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 1-111.8)

CONTROLLED-ACCESS HIGHWAY.  Every highway, street, or roadway in respect to which
owners or occupants of abutting lands and other persons have no legal right of access to or from the
same, except at such points only and in such manner as may be determined by the public authority having
jurisdiction over the highway, street, or roadway. (ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 1-112)

CROSSWALK.

(1) That part of a roadway at an intersection included within the connections of the lateral lines
of the sidewalks on opposite sides of the highway measured from the curbs or, in the absence of curbs, 
from the edges of the traversable roadway, and in the absence of a sidewalk on one side of a highway,
that part of the highway included within the extension of the lateral line of the existing sidewalk to the
side of the highway without the sidewalk, with the extension forming a right angle to the centerline of
the highway;

(2) Any portion of a roadway at an intersection or elsewhere distinctly indicated for pedestrian
crossing by lines or other markings on the surface, placed in accordance with the provisions in the
manual adopted by the Department of Transportation as authorized in ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 11-301.
(ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 1-113)

CUSTOM VEHICLE.  A motor vehicle that is at least 25 years of age and of a model year after
1948 or a custom vehicle manufactured to resemble a vehicle at least 25 years of age and of a model year
after 1948 and has been altered from the manufacturer's original design or has a body constructed from
non-original materials and which is maintained for occasional transportation, exhibitions, club activities,
parades, tours, and similar uses and which is not used for general daily transportation.  (ILCS Ch. 625,
Act 5, § 1-113.1)

DRIVER.  Every person who drives or is in actual physical control of a vehicle. (ILCS Ch. 625,
Act 5, § 1-116)

EXPANDED-USE ANTIQUE VEHICLE.  A motor vehicle that is more than 25 years of age or a
bona fide replica thereof and which is registered and driven on the highways in accordance with ILCS
Ch. 625, Act 5, § 3-804.01.  (ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 1-118.1)

FARM TRACTOR.  Every motor vehicle designed and used primarily as a farm implement for
drawing wagons, plows, mowing machines, and other implements of husbandry, and every implement
of husbandry which is self-propelled. (ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 1-120)
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6 Grayville - Traffic Code

FIRE DEPARTMENT VEHICLE.  Any vehicle, bicycle, or electric personal assistive mobility
device that is designated or authorized by proper local authorities for Fire Department use.  (ILCS Ch.
625, Act 5, § 1-120.7)

GOLF CART.  A vehicle specifically designed and intended for the purposes of transporting one
or more persons and their golf clubs or maintenance equipment while engaged in the playing of golf,
supervising the play of golf, or maintaining the condition of the grounds on a public or private golf
course.  (ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 1-123.9)

GROSS WEIGHT.  The weight of a vehicle, whether operated singly or in combination, without
load, plus the weight of load thereon. (ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 1-125)

HIGHWAY.  The entire width between the boundary lines of every way publicly maintained when
any part thereof is open to the use of the public for purposes of vehicular travel or located on public
school property. (ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 1-126)

IMPLEMENT OF HUSBANDRY.  Every vehicle designed and adapted exclusively for agricultural,
horticultural, or livestock raising operations, including farm wagons, wagon trailers, or like vehicles
used in connection therewith, or for lifting or carrying an implement of husbandry, provided that no farm
wagon, wagon trailer, or like vehicle having a gross weight of more than 36,000 pounds, shall be
included hereunder. (ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 1-130)

IMPROVED HIGHWAY.  Any roadway of concrete, brick, asphalt, macadam and crushed stone,
or gravel. (ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 1-131)

IN-LINE SPEED SKATES. A manufactured or assembled device consisting of an upper portion
that is intended to be secured to a human foot, with a frame or chassis attached along the length of the
bottom of the upper portion, with a frame or chassis holding two or more wheels that are longitudinally
aligned and used to skate or glide by means of human foot and leg power while having the device
attached to each foot or leg. The upper portion many not extend more than two inches above the wearer’s
ankle joint. (ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 1-131.5)

INTERSECTION.

(1) The area embraced within the prolongation or connection of the lateral curb lines, or, if
none, then the lateral boundary lines of the roadways of two highways which join one another at, or
approximately at, right angles, or the area within which vehicles traveling upon different roadways
joining at any other angle may come in conflict.

(2) Where a highway includes two roadways 40 feet or more apart, then every crossing of each
roadway of the divided highway by an intersecting highway shall be regarded as a separate intersection.
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General Provisions 6A

(3) The junction of an alley with a street or highway does not constitute an intersection.
(ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 1-132)

LANE-CONTROL SIGNAL.  An official traffic-control device consisting of an electrically
controlled and illuminated signal of a square or rectangular design, and employing distinctive colors or
symbols used to control the direction of vehicular flow on the particular lane to which the indication
applies. (ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 1-135)

LANED ROADWAY.  A roadway which is divided into two or more clearly marked lanes for
vehicular traffic. (ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 1-136)

LEASE.  A written document vesting exclusive possession, use, control, and responsibility of the
lessee during the periods the vehicle is operated by or for the lessee for a specific period of time. (ILCS
Ch. 625, Act 5, § 1-137)

LICENSE TO DRIVE.  Any driver’s license or any other license or permit to operate a motor
vehicle issued under the laws of this state including:

(1) Any temporary license or instruction permit;

(2) The privilege of any person to drive a motor vehicle, whether or not the person holds a
valid license or permit;

(3) Any nonresident’s driving privilege as defined herein.
(ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 1-138)
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LIMOUSINE.  Any privately owned first division vehicle intended to be used for the transportation
of persons for-hire when the payment is not based on a meter charge but is prearranged for a designated
destination.  (ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 1-139.1)

LOCAL AUTHORITIES.  Every county, city, village, and other local board or body having
authority to enact laws relating to traffic under the constitution and laws of this state and each road
district highway commissioner having the authority. (ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 1-140)

LOW-SPEED VEHICLE.  Any 4-wheeled vehicle with a maximum speed greater than 20 miles per
hour but not greater than 25 miles per hour that conforms with the federal motor vehicle safety standards
set forth in 49 C.F.R. Part 571.500.  (ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 1-140.7)

MAIL.  To deposit in the United States mail properly addressed and with postage prepaid. (ILCS
Ch. 625, Act 5, § 1-141)

MOTOR VEHICLE.  Every vehicle which is self-propelled and every vehicle which is propelled
by electric power obtained from overhead trolley wires, but not operated upon rails, except for vehicles
moved solely by human power, motorized wheelchairs, low-speed electric bicycles, and low-speed gas
bicycles.  For this section, motor vehicles are divided into two divisions:

(1) First division.  Those motor vehicles which are designed for the carrying of not more than
ten persons. 

(2) Second division.  Those motor vehicles which are designed for carrying more than ten
persons, those motor vehicles designed or used for living quarters, those motor vehicles which are
designed for pulling or carrying freight, cargo or implements of husbandry, and those motor vehicles
of the First Division remodeled for use and used as motor vehicles of the second division.
(ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 1-146)

MOTOR-DRIVEN CYCLE.  Every motorcycle and every motor scooter with less than 150 cubic
centimeter piston displacement, including motorized pedalcycles. (ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 1-145.001)

MOTORCYCLE.  Every motor vehicle having a seat or saddle for the use of the rider, and designed
to travel on not more than three wheels in contact with the ground, but excluding an autocycle or tractor.
(ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 1-147)

MOPED.  A moped is a motor-driven cycle, with or without optional power derived from manually
operated pedals, whose speed attainable in one mile is at least 20 m.p.h. but not greater than 30 m.p.h.,
and is equipped with a motor that produces two brake horsepower or less.  If an internal combustion
engine is used, the displacement shall not exceed 50 cubic centimeter displacement and the power drive
system shall not require the operator to shift gears.  (ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 1-148.2)
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MOTORIZED WHEELCHAIR.  Any self-propelled vehicle, including a three-wheeled vehicle,
designed for and used by a person with disabilities, that is incapable of a speed in excess of eight m.p.h.
on level ground.  (ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 1-148.3)

MULTIFUNCTION SCHOOL ACTIVITY BUS (MFSAB).  A school bus manufactured for the
purpose of transporting 11 or more persons, including the driver, whose purposes do not include
transporting students to and from home or school bus stops.  A MFSAB is prohibited from meeting the
special requirements for school buses in ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, §§ 12-801, 12-803, and 12-805 and
subsection (a) of § 12-802.  (ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 1-148.3a-5)

NONCOMMERCIAL VEHICLE.  Any vehicle that is not a commercial vehicle. (ILCS Ch. 625,
Act 5, § 1-151)

NOT-FOR-HIRE.  Operation of a commercial vehicle in furtherance of any commercial or industrial
enterprise, but not-for-hire. (ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 1-153)

OFFICIAL TRAFFIC-CONTROL DEVICES.  All signs, signals, markings, and devices which
conform with the state manual, and not inconsistent with this title, placed or erected by authority of a
public body or official having jurisdiction, for the purpose of regulating, warning, or guiding traffic.
(ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 1-154)

OWNER.  A person who holds legal title of a motor vehicle, or in the event a motor vehicle is the
subject of an agreement for the conditional sale or lease thereof with the right of purchase upon
performance of the conditions stated in the agreement, and with an immediate right of possession vested
in the conditional vendee or lessee, or in the event a mortgagor of the motor vehicle is entitled to
possession, then the conditional vendee or lessee or mortgagor shall be deemed the owner for the
purpose of this title. (ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 1-155)

PARK or PARKING.  The standing of a vehicle, whether occupied or not, otherwise than when
temporarily and actually engaged in loading or unloading merchandise or passengers. (ILCS Ch. 625,
Act 5, § 1-156)

PASSENGER CAR.  A motor vehicle of the first division, including a multipurpose passenger
vehicle, that is designed for carrying not more than ten persons. (ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 1-157)

PEDESTRIAN.  Any person afoot or wearing in-line speed skates, including a person with a
physical, hearing, or visual disability. (ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 1-158)

PERSON WITH DISABILITIES.  A natural person who, as determined by a licensed physician,
by a licensed physician assistant, or by a licensed advanced practice registered nurse:
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(1) Cannot walk without the use of, or assistance from, a brace, cane, crutch, another person,
prosthetic device, wheelchair, or other assistive device;

(2) Is restricted by lung disease to such an extent that his or her forced (respiratory) expiratory
volume for one second, when measured by spirometry, is less than one liter, or the arterial oxygen
tension is less than 60 mm/hg on room air at rest;

(3) Uses portable oxygen;

(4) Has a cardiac condition to the extent that the person's functional limitations are classified
in severity as Class III or Class IV, according to standards set by the American Heart Association;

(5) Is severely limited in the person’s ability to walk due to an arthritic, neurological,
oncological, or orthopedic condition;

(6) Cannot walk 200 feet without stopping to rest because of one of the above five conditions;
or

(7) Is missing a hand or arm or has permanently lost the use of a hand or arm.
(ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 1-159.1)

POLICE OFFICER.  Every officer authorized to direct or regulate traffic, or to make arrests and
issue citations for violations of traffic regulations. (ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 1-162)

POLICE VEHICLE.  Any vehicle, bicycle, or electric personal assistive mobility device that is
designated or authorized by proper local authorities for police use.  (ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 1-162.3)

PRINCIPAL PLACE OF BUSINESS.  The place where any person transacts his principal business,
or where he makes up and approves his payroll, maintains a central file of records, and maintains his
principal executive offices.  In the event that not all of these functions are performed in one place, then
that place where a majority of these functions are performed, or the place where the person does in fact
principally transact and control his business affairs shall be considered as the principal place of business.
(ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 1-162.5)

PRIVATE ROAD OR DRIVEWAY.  Every way or place in private ownership, and used for
vehicular travel by the owner and those having express or implied permission from the owner, but not
by other persons. (ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 1-163)

RAILROAD.  A carrier of persons or property upon cars, other than streetcars, operated upon
stationary rails. (ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 1-166)
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RAILROAD-HIGHWAY GRADE CROSSING.  The intersection of stationary rails owned or used
in the operation of a railroad corporation across a highway. (ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 1-166.1)

RAILROAD SIGNS OR SIGNAL.  Any sign, signal or device, other than an official traffic control
signal or device, erected in accordance with the laws governing same and intended to give notice of the
presence of railroad tracks or the approach of a railroad train or railroad track equipment.  (ILCS Ch.
625, Act 5, § 1-167)

RAILROAD TRACK EQUIPMENT.  All vehicles operated upon rails for the purpose of the
maintenance of railroads including, but not limited to, all hi-rail vehicles and on-track roadway
maintenance machines, as defined in 49 CFR, Part 214.7.  (ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 1-167.5)

RAILROAD TRAIN.  A steam engine, electric or other motor, with or without cars coupled thereto,
operated upon rails, except streetcars. (ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 1-168)

RECREATIONAL OFF-HIGHWAY VEHICLE.  Any motorized off-highway device designed to
travel primarily off-highway, 64 inches or less in width, having a manufacturer's dry weight of 2,000
pounds or less, traveling on four or more non-highway tires, designed with a non-straddle seat and a
steering wheel for steering control, except equipment such as lawnmowers.  (ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5,
§ 1-168.8)

RECREATIONAL VEHICLE.  Every camping trailer, motor home, mini motor home, travel
trailer, truck camper, or van camper used primarily for recreational purposes, and not used commercially
nor owned by a commercial business. (ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 1-169)

REGISTRATION.  The registration certificate or certificates and registration plates issued under
the laws of this state pertaining to the registration of vehicles. (ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 1-171)

REGISTRATION STICKER.  A device to be attached to a registration plate that will renew the
registration and registration plate or plates for a predetermined period, not to exceed one registration
year. (ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 1-171)

REMOVE.  Includes removing, defacing, covering, or destroying.

RESCUE SQUAD.  A voluntary association of individuals, or a fire department, dedicated to saving
lives through the rescue of persons entrapped in wrecked vehicles or other hazardous circumstances, and
associated with some unit of government. (ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 1-171.6)

RESCUE VEHICLE.  Any publicly or privately owned vehicle which is specifically designed,
configured, and equipped for the performance of access and extrication of persons from hazardous or
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life-endangering situations, as well as for the emergency transportation of persons who are sick, injured,
wounded, or otherwise incapacitated or helpless. (ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 1-171.8)

RESIDENCE DISTRICT.  The territory contiguous to and including a highway not comprising a
business district when the property on such highway for a distance of 300 feet or more is in the main
improved with residences or residences and buildings in use for business.  For purposes of establishing
maximum speed limits, a RESIDENCE DISTRICT shall be at least a quarter of a mile long with
residences or residences and buildings in use for businesses spaced no more than 500 feet apart. (ILCS
Ch. 625, Act 5, § 1-172)

RETAIL SALE.  The act or attempted act of selling vehicles or otherwise disposing of a vehicle to
a person for use as a consumer. (ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 1-174)

REVOCATION OF DRIVER'S LICENSE.  The termination by formal action of the secretary, of
a person's license or privilege to operate a motor vehicle on the public highways, which termination shall
not be subject to renewal or restoration, except that an application for a new license may be presented
and acted upon by the secretary after the expiration of at least one year after the date of revocation.
(ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 1-176)

RIGHT-OF-WAY.  The right of one vehicle or pedestrian to proceed in a lawful manner in
preference to another vehicle or pedestrian approaching under such circumstances of direction, speed,
and proximity as to give rise to danger of collision, unless one grants precedence to the other. (ILCS Ch.
625, Act 5, § 1-177)

ROAD TRACTOR.  Every motor vehicle designed and used for drawing other vehicles, and not so
constructed as to carry any load thereon, either independently or any part of the weight of a vehicle or
load so drawn. (ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 1-178)

ROADWAY.  That portion of a highway improved, designed, or ordinarily used for vehicular travel,
exclusive of the berm or shoulder.  In the event a highway includes two or more separate roadways, the
term ROADWAY as used herein shall refer to any such roadway separately, but not to all such roadways
collectively. (ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 1-179)

SAFETY ZONE.  The area or space officially set apart within a roadway for the exclusive use of
pedestrians, and which is protected or is so marked or indicated by adequate signs as to be plainly visible
at all times while set apart as a safety zone. (ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 1-181)

SCHOOL BUS.

(1) Every motor vehicle, except as provided in division (2) below, owned or operated by or
for any of the following entities for the transportation of persons regularly enrolled as students in grade
12 or below in connection with any activity of such entity:

(a) Any public or private primary or secondary school;
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(b) Any primary or secondary school operated by a religious institution; or

(c) Any public, private or religious nursery school.

(2) This definition shall not include the following:

(a) A bus operated by a public utility, municipal corporation or common carrier authorized
to conduct local or interurban transportation of passengers when such bus is not traveling a specific
school bus route but is:

1. On a regularly scheduled route for the transportation of other fare paying
passengers;

2. Furnishing charter service for the transportation of groups on field trips or other
special trips or in connection with other special events; or

3. Being used for shuttle service between attendance centers or other educational
facilities.

(b) A motor vehicle of the First Division.

(c) A multifunction school-activity bus.
(ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 1-182)

SEMITRAILER.  Every vehicle without motive power, other than a pole trailer, designed for
carrying persons or property and for being drawn by a motor vehicle, and so constructed its weight and
that of its load rests upon or is carried by another vehicle. (ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 1-187)

SERIOUS TRAFFIC VIOLATION.

(1) A conviction when operating a motor vehicle for:

(a) A violation of § 76.05(A), relating to a motor vehicle accident involving damage to
a vehicle;

(b) A violation of § 76.04, relating to failure to stop and exchange information after a
motor vehicle collision, property damage only;

(c) A violation of subsection (a) of ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 11-502, relating to illegal
transportation, possession, or carrying of alcoholic liquor within the passenger area of any vehicle;

(d) A violation of ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 6-101 relating to operating a motor vehicle
without a valid license or permit;
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(e) A violation of § 76.04, relating to failure to stop and exchange information or give aid
after a motor vehicle collision involving personal injury or death;

(f) A violation relating to excessive speeding, involving a single speeding charge of 26
miles per hour or more above the legal speed limit;

(g) A violation relating to reckless driving;

(h) A violation of § 71.047(D), relating to passing in a no-passing zone;

(i) A violation of § 71.095(B), relating to limitations on backing upon a controlled access
highway;

(j) A violation of § 71.047(B), relating to driving on the left side of a roadway in a
no-passing zone;

(k) A violation of § 74.02(E), relating to failure to yield the right-of-way to a pedestrian
at an intersection;

(l) A violation of § 74.09, relating to failure to yield to a pedestrian on a sidewalk; or

(m) A violation of § 71.080, relating to failure to stop for an approaching railroad train or
railroad track equipment or signals; or

(2) Any other similar violation of a law or local ordinance of any state relating to motor vehicle
traffic control, other than a parking violation.

(3) A violation of any of these defined serious traffic offenses shall not preclude the defendant
from being eligible to receive an order of court supervision under Section 5-6-1 of the Unified Code of
Corrections.  (ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 1-187.001)

SHOULDER.  That portion of the highway adjacent to the roadway for accommodating stopped
vehicles or for emergency use.  (ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 1-187.1)

SIDEWALK.  That portion of a street between the curb lines, or the lateral lines of roadway and
the adjacent property lines, intended for use of pedestrians. (ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 1-188)

SPEED-CHANGE LANE.  An auxiliary lane, including tapered areas, primarily for the acceleration
or deceleration of vehicles entering or leaving the through traffic lanes. (ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 1-193)

STAND or STANDING.  The halting of a vehicle, whether occupied or not, otherwise than when
temporarily and actually engaged in receiving or discharging passengers.  (ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5,
§ 1-194)
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STATE.  A state, territory, or possession of the United States, the District of Columbia, the
Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, or a province of the Dominion of Canada.  (ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5,
§ 1-195)

STATE HIGHWAYS.  Defined in the Illinois Highway Code as the same may from time to time be
amended. (ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 1-196)

STATE POLICE.  The Illinois state police. (ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 1-197)

STOP.  The complete cessation from movement. (ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 1-199)

STOP or STOPPING.  Any halting, even momentarily, of a vehicle, whether occupied or not,
except when necessary to avoid conflict with other traffic, or in compliance with the directions of a
police officer or traffic-control sign or signal. (ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 1-200)

STREET.  The entire width between boundary lines of every way publicly maintained when any part
thereof is open to the use of the public for purposes of vehicular travel. (ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 1-201)

STREET ROD.  A motor vehicle that is a 1948 or older vehicle or a vehicle that was manufactured
after 1948 to resemble a vehicle that was manufactured before 1949 and has been altered from the
manufacturer's original design or has a body constructed from non-original materials and which is
maintained for occasional transportation, exhibitions, club activities, parades, tours, and similar uses and
which is not used for general daily transportation.  (ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 1-202.1)

SUBURBAN DISTRICT.  That portion of any city, village, or incorporated town, other than the
business and residence districts. (ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 1-203)

THROUGH HIGHWAY.  Every highway or portion thereof on which vehicular traffic is given
preferential right-of-way, and at the entrances to which vehicular traffic from intersecting highways is
required by law to yield the right-of-way to vehicles on the through highway in obedience to either a stop
sign or a yield sign, when those signs are erected as provided in this title. (ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 1-
205)

TOW TRUCK.  Every truck designed or altered and equipped for and used to push, tow, or draw
vehicles by means of a crane, hoist, towbar, towline, or auxiliary axle, or to render assistance to disabled
vehicles. (ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 1-205.1)

TRAFFIC.  Pedestrians, ridden or herded animals, vehicles, streetcars, and other conveyances either
singly or together while using any highway for purposes of travel.  (ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 1-207)

TRAFFIC-CONTROL SIGNAL.  Any official traffic-control device other than a railroad sign or
signal, whether manually, electrically, or mechanically operated, by which traffic is alternately directed
to stop and permitted to proceed. (ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 1-208)
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TRAFFIC REGULATIONS.   Any provision of this code or other regulatory ordinance the purpose
of which is to directly control or improve traffic and safety of both vehicles and pedestrians.

TRAILER.  Every vehicle without motive power in operation, other than a pole trailer, designed
for carrying persons or property, and for being drawn by a motor vehicle, and so constructed that no part
of its weight rests upon the towing vehicle. (ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 1-209)

TRAVEL TRAILER.  A trailer, not used commercially, designed to provide living quarters for
recreational, camping, or travel use, and of a size or weight not requiring an over-dimension permit
when towed on a highway. (ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 1-210.01)

TRUCK.  Every motor vehicle designed, used, or maintained primarily for the transportation of
property. (ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 1-211)

TRUCK CAMPER.  A truck, not used commercially, when equipped with a portable unit designed
to be loaded onto the bed which is constructed to provide temporary living quarters for recreational,
travel, or camping use. (ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 1-211.01)

TRUCK TRACTOR.  Every motor vehicle designed and used primarily for drawing other vehicles,
and not so constructed as to carry a load other than a part of the weight of the vehicle and load so drawn,
or a power unit that carries as property motor vehicles when operating in combination with a semitrailer
in transporting motor vehicles or an other commodity, including cargo or general freight, on a backhaul.
(ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 1-212)

URBAN DISTRICT.  The territory contiguous to and including any street which is built up with
structures devoted to business, industry, or dwelling houses, and situated at intervals of less than 100
feet for a distance of 1/4 mile or more. (ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 1-214)

URBAN AREA.  An urban area is any incorporated or unincorporated area developed primarily for
residential or business purposes. (ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 1-214.8)

VEHICLE.

(1) Every device, in, upon, or by which any person or property is or may be transported or
drawn upon a highway or requiring a certificate of title under ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 3-101(d), except
devices moved by human power, devices used exclusively upon stationary rails or tracks, and
snowmobiles as defined in the Snowmobile Registration and Safety Act.

(2) For the purposes of this section, unless otherwise prescribed, a device shall be considered
to be a vehicle until such time it either comes within the definition of a “junk vehicle,” as defined under
this section, or a junking certificate is issued for it.
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(3) For this section vehicles are divided into two divisions:

(a) First division:  those motor vehicles which are designed for the carrying of not more
than ten persons;

(b) Second division:  those vehicles which are designed for carrying more than ten persons;
those designed or used for living quarters; those which are designed for pulling or carrying property,
freight, or cargo; those vehicles of the first division remodeled for use and used as vehicles of the second
division; and those vehicles of the first division used and registered as school buses.
(ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 1-217)

OBEDIENCE TO AND EFFECT OF TRAFFIC LAWS

§ 70.10  OBEDIENCE TO POLICE OFFICERS.

No person shall willfully fail or refuse to comply with any lawful order or direction of any police
officer, fireman, person authorized by a local authority to direct traffic, or school crossing guard
invested by law with authority to direct, control, or regulate traffic.
(ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 11-203)  Penalty, see § 70.99

§ 70.11  PUBLIC OFFICERS AND EMPLOYEES TO OBEY TRAFFIC CODE; EXCEPTIONS.

(A) The provisions of this traffic code applicable to the drivers of vehicles upon the highways shall
apply to the drivers of all vehicles owned or operated by the United States, the state, or any county, city,
town, district, or any other political subdivision of the state, except as provided in this section, and
subject to specific exceptions as set forth in this title with reference to authorized emergency vehicles.

(B) The driver of an authorized emergency vehicle, when responding to an emergency call, or when
in the pursuit of an actual or suspected violator of the law, or when responding to but not upon returning
from a fire alarm, may exercise the privileges set forth in this section, but subject to the conditions
herein stated.

(C) The driver of an authorized emergency vehicle may:

(1) Park or stand, irrespective of the provisions of this traffic code;

(2) Proceed past a red or stop signal or stop sign, but only after slowing down as may be
required and necessary for safe operation;

(3) Exceed the maximum speed limits so long as he does not endanger life or property;
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(4) Disregard regulations governing the direction of movement or turning in specified
directions.

(D) The exceptions herein granted to an authorized emergency vehicle, other than a police vehicle,
shall apply only when the vehicle is making use of either an audible signal when in motion, or visual
signals meeting the requirements of ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 12-215.

(E) The foregoing provisions do not relieve the driver of an authorized emergency vehicle from the
duty of driving with due regard for the safety of all persons, nor do these provisions protect the driver
from the consequences of his reckless disregard for the safety of others.

(F) Unless specifically made applicable, the provisions of this traffic code shall not apply to
persons, motor vehicles, and equipment while actually engaged in work upon the highway, but shall
apply to such persons and vehicles when traveling to or from such work.
(ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 11-205)  Penalty, see § 70.99

§ 70.12  TRAFFIC LAWS APPLY TO PERSONS RIDING ANIMALS OR DRIVING
ANIMAL-DRAWN VEHICLES.

Every person riding an animal or driving an animal-drawn vehicle upon a roadway shall be granted
all of the rights, and shall be subject to all of the duties applicable to the driver of a vehicle by this
chapter, except those provisions of this chapter which by their very nature can have no application.
(ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 11-206)  Penalty, see § 70.99

§ 70.13  FLEEING OR ATTEMPTING TO ELUDE POLICE OFFICER.

It shall be unlawful for any driver or operator of a motor vehicle who, having been given a visual
or audible signal by a police officer directing the driver or operator to bring his vehicle to a stop,
willfully fails or refuses to obey that direction, increases his speed, extinguishes his lights, or otherwise
flees or attempts to elude the officer.  The signal given by the police officer may be by hand, voice,
siren, or a red or blue light.  However, the officer giving the signal shall be in police uniform and, if
driving a vehicle, the vehicle shall be marked showing it to be an official police vehicle.
Penalty, see § 70.99
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TRAFFIC SIGNS, SIGNALS, AND MARKINGS

§ 70.30  OBEDIENCE TO TRAFFIC-CONTROL DEVICES.

(A) The driver of any vehicle shall obey the instructions of any official traffic-control accordance
with this chapter, unless otherwise directed by a police officer, subject to the exceptions granted the
driver of an authorized emergency vehicle in this traffic code.

(B) It is unlawful for any person to leave the roadway and travel across private property to avoid
an official traffic-control device.

(C) No provision of this traffic code, for which official traffic-control devices are required, shall
be enforced against an alleged violator if at the time and place of the alleged violation an official device
is not in proper position and sufficiently legible to be seen by an ordinarily observant person.  Whenever
a particular section does not state that official traffic-control devices are required, the section shall be
effective even though no devices are erected or in place.

(D) Whenever any official traffic-control device is placed or held in position approximately
conforming to the requirements of this traffic code, the device shall be presumed to have been so placed
or held by the official act or direction of lawful authority, and comply with the requirements of this
traffic code, unless the contrary shall be established by competent evidence.

(E) The driver of a vehicle approaching a traffic-control signal on which no signal light facing the
vehicle is illuminated shall stop before entering the intersection, in accordance with rules applicable in
making a stop at a stop sign.

(F) Any violation of division (A) that occurs within a designated highway construction zone or
maintenance zone shall result in a fine of no less than $100 and no more than $1,000.
(ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 11-305) Penalty, see § 70.99

§ 70.31  TRAFFIC-CONTROL SIGNAL LEGEND.

Whenever traffic is controlled by traffic-control signals exhibiting different colored lights or color
lighted arrows, successively one at a time or in combination, only the colors green, red and yellow shall
be used, except for special pedestrian signals carrying a word legend, and the lights shall indicate and
apply to drivers of vehicles and pedestrians as follows: 

(A) Green indication.

(1) Vehicular traffic facing a circular green signal may proceed straight through or turn right
or left unless a sign at such place prohibits either such turn.  Vehicular traffic, including vehicles turning
right or left, shall yield the right-of-way to other vehicles and to pedestrians lawfully within the
intersection or an adjacent crosswalk at the time such signal is exhibited.
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(2) Vehicular traffic facing a green arrow signal, shown alone or in combination with another
indication, may cautiously enter the intersection only to make the movement indicated by such arrow,
or such other movement as is permitted by other indications shown at the same time.  Such vehicular
traffic shall yield the right-of-way to pedestrians lawfully within an adjacent crosswalk and to other
traffic lawfully using the intersection.

(3) Unless otherwise directed by a pedestrian-control signal, as provided in § 70.32,
pedestrians facing any green signal, except when the sole green signal is a turn arrow, may proceed
across the roadway within any marked or unmarked crosswalk.

(B) Steady yellow indication.

(1) Vehicular traffic facing a steady circular yellow or yellow arrow signal is thereby warned
that the related green movement is being terminated or that a red indication will be exhibited immediately
thereafter.

(2) Pedestrians facing a steady circular yellow or yellow arrow signal, unless otherwise
directed by a pedestrian-control signal as provided in § 70.32, are thereby advised that there is
insufficient time to cross the roadway before a red indication is shown and no pedestrian shall then start
to cross the roadway. 

(C) Flashing yellow arrow indication.

(1) Vehicular traffic facing a flashing yellow arrow indication may cautiously enter the
intersection only to make the movement indicated by the arrow and shall yield the right-of-way to other
vehicles and pedestrians lawfully within the intersection or an adjacent crosswalk at the time the signal
is exhibited.

(2) Pedestrians facing a flashing yellow arrow indication, unless otherwise directed by a
pedestrian-control signal as provided in § 70.32, may proceed across the roadway within any marked
or unmarked crosswalk that crosses the lane or lanes used to depart the intersection by traffic controlled
by the flashing yellow arrow indication. Pedestrians shall yield the right-of-way to vehicles lawfully
within the intersection at the time that the flashing yellow signal indication is first displayed.

(D) Steady red indication.

(1) Except as provided in divisions (D)(3) and (D)(4) of this section, vehicular traffic facing
a steady circular red signal alone shall stop at a clearly marked stop line, but if there is no such stop line,
before entering the crosswalk on the near side of the intersection, or if there is no such crosswalk, then
before entering the intersection, and shall remain standing until an indication to proceed is shown.
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(2) Except as provided in divisions (D)(3) and (D)(4) of this section, vehicular traffic facing
a steady red arrow signal shall not enter the intersection to make the movement indicated by the arrow
and, unless entering the intersection to make a movement permitted by another signal, shall stop at a
clearly marked stop line, but if there is no such stop line, before entering the crosswalk on the near side
of the intersection, or if there is no such crosswalk, then before entering the intersection, and shall
remain standing until an indication permitting the movement indicated by such red arrow is shown.

(3) Except when a sign is in place prohibiting a turn and city authorities by ordinance or state
authorities by rule or regulation prohibit any such turn, vehicular traffic facing any steady red signal may
cautiously enter the intersection to turn right, or to turn left from a one-way street into a one-way street,
after stopping as required by divisions (D)(1) or (D)(2) of this section.  After stopping, the driver shall
yield the right-of-way to any vehicle in the intersection or approaching on another roadway so closely
as to constitute an immediate hazard during the time such driver is moving across or within the
intersection or junction or roadways. Such driver shall yield the right-of-way to pedestrians within the
intersection or an adjacent crosswalk.

(4) After stopping as required by divisions (D)(1) or (D)(2) of this section, the driver of a
motorcycle or bicycle, facing a steady red signal which fails to change to a green signal within a
reasonable period of time not less than 120 seconds because of a signal malfunction or because the signal
has failed to detect the arrival of the motorcycle or bicycle due to the vehicle’s size or weight, shall have
the right to proceed, after yielding the right-of-way to oncoming traffic facing a green signal, subject to
the rules applicable after making a stop at a stop sign as required by § 70.41.

(5) Unless otherwise directed by a pedestrian-control signal as provided in § 70.32, pedestrians
facing a steady circular red or red arrow signal alone shall not enter the roadway.

(E) In the event an official traffic control signal is erected and maintained at a place other than an
intersection, the provisions of this section shall be applicable except as to provisions which by their
nature can have no application.  Any stop required shall be at a traffic sign or a marking on the pavement
indicating where the stop shall be made or, in the absence of such sign or marking, the stop shall be
made at the signal.
(ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 11-306)  Penalty, see § 70.99

§ 70.32  PEDESTRIAN-CONTROL SIGNALS.

Whenever special pedestrian-control signals exhibiting the words “Walk” or “Don't Walk” or the
illuminated symbols of a walking person or an upraised palm are in place, these signals shall indicate
as follows:

(A) “Walk” or walking person symbol.  Pedestrians facing this signal may proceed across the
roadway in the direction of the signal, and shall be given the right-of-way by the drivers of all vehicles.
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(B) “Don't Walk” or upraised palm signal.  No pedestrian shall start to cross the roadway in the
direction of this signal, but any pedestrian who has partly completed his crossing on the “Walk” signal
or upraised palm symbol shall proceed to a sidewalk or safety island while the “Don't Walk” signal or
upraised palm symbol is illuminated, steady, or flashing.
(ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 11-307)  Penalty, see § 70.99

§ 70.33  LANE-CONTROL SIGNALS.

Whenever lane-control signals are used in conjunction with official signs, they shall have the
following meanings:

(A) Downward-pointing green arrow.  A driver facing this indication is permitted to drive in the
lane over which the arrow signal is located.  Otherwise, he shall obey all other traffic controls present
and follow normal safe driving practices.

(B) Red X symbol.  A driver facing this indication shall not drive in the lane over which the signal
is located, and this indication shall modify accordingly the meaning of all other traffic controls present. 
Otherwise he shall obey all other traffic controls, and follow normal safe driving practices.

(C) Yellow X (steady).  A driver facing this indication should prepare to vacate the lane over which
the signal is located, in a safe manner to avoid, if possible, occupying that lane when a steady red X is
displayed.

(D) Flashing yellow arrow.  A driver facing this indication may use the lane only for the purpose
of approaching and making a left turn.
(ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 11-308)  Penalty, see § 70.99

§ 70.34  FLASHING SIGNALS.

Whenever an illuminated flashing red or yellow signal is used in conjunction with a traffic-control
device, it shall require obedience by vehicular traffic as follows:

(A) Flashing red (stop signal).  When a red lens is illuminated with rapid intermittent flashes,
drivers of vehicles shall stop at a clearly marked stop line, but if none, before entering the crosswalk on
the near side of the intersection, or if none, then at a point nearest the intersecting roadway where the
driver has a view of approaching traffic on the intersecting roadway before entering the intersection, and
the right to proceed shall be subject to the rules applicable after making a stop at a stop sign.

(B) Flashing yellow (caution signal).  When a yellow lens is illuminated with rapid intermittent
flashes, drivers of vehicles may proceed through the intersection or past the signal only with caution.

(C) This section does not apply at railroad grade crossings.
(ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 11-309)  Penalty, see § 70.99
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§ 70.35  DISPLAY OF UNAUTHORIZED SIGNS, SIGNALS, MARKINGS, OR
ADVERTISING SIGNS.

(A) No person shall place, maintain, or display upon or in view of any highway any unauthorized
sign, signal, marking, or device which purports to be, or is an imitation of, or resembles an official
traffic-control device or railroad sign or signal, or which attempts to direct the movement of traffic, or
which hides from view or interferes with the movement of traffic or the effectiveness of an official
traffic-control device or any railroad sign or signal.
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(B) No person shall place or maintain, nor shall any public authority permit, upon any highway any
traffic sign or signal bearing thereon any commercial advertising.

(C) Every such prohibited sign, signal, or marking is hereby declared to be a public nuisance, and
the authority having jurisdiction over the highway is hereby empowered to remove the same, or cause
it to be removed without notice.

(D) No person shall sell or offer for sale any traffic-control device to be used on any street or
highway in this city which does not conform to the requirements of this chapter.

(E) This section shall not be deemed to prohibit the erection upon private property adjacent to
highways of signs giving useful directional information, and of a type that cannot be mistaken for official
signs.

(F) This section shall not be deemed to prohibit the erection of Illinois Adopt-A-Highway signs by
the city as provided in the Illinois Adopt-A-Highway Act, ILCS Ch. 605, Act 120, §§ 1 et seq.
(ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 11-310)  Penalty, see § 70.99

§ 70.36  INTERFERENCE WITH OFFICIAL TRAFFIC-CONTROL DEVICES OR RAILROAD
SIGNS OR SIGNALS.

(A) No person shall, without lawful authority, attempt to or in fact alter, deface, injure, knock
down, or remove any official traffic-control device, or any railroad sign or signal or any inscription,
shield, or insignia thereon, or any other part thereof.

(B) Every person who is convicted of a violation of this section shall be punished by a fine of at
least $250 in addition to any other penalties which may be imposed.
(ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 11-311)

§ 70.37  UNLAWFUL USE OR DAMAGE TO HIGHWAYS, APPURTENANCES, AND
STRUCTURES.

(A) It shall be unlawful for any person to willfully injure or damage any public highway or street,
or any bridge or culvert, or to willfully damage, injure, or remove any sign, signpost, or structure upon
or used or constructed in connection with any public highway or street for the protection thereof, or for
the protection or regulation of traffic thereon, by any willfully unusual, improper, or unreasonable use
thereof, or by willfully careless driving or use of any vehicle thereon, or by willful mutilation, defacing,
destruction, or removal thereof.

(B) Every person who is convicted of a violation of this section shall be punished by a fine of at
least $250 in addition to any other penalty which may be imposed.
(ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 11-312)  Penalty, see § 70.99
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§ 70.38  UNLAWFUL POSSESSION OF HIGHWAY SIGN OR MARKER.

The City Street Department, with reference to traffic-control signs, signals, or markers owned by
the city, is authorized to indicate the ownership of the signs, signals, or markers in letters not less than
3/8 inch, or more than ¾ inch in height, by use of a metal stamp, etching, or other permanent means. 
Except for employees of the City Street Department, police officers, contractors and their employees
engaged in a highway construction contract or work on the highway approved by the city, it is unlawful
for any person to possess a sign, signal, or marker so identified.
(ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 11-313)  Penalty, see § 70.99

§ 70.39  ZONES OF QUIET.

Whenever authorized signs are erected indicating a zone of quiet, no person operating a motor
vehicle within the zone shall sound the horn or other warning device except in an emergency.

§ 70.40  NO-TURNING SIGNS AND TURNING MARKERS.

Whenever authorized signs are erected indicating that no right or left or U-turn is permitted no
driver of a vehicle shall disobey the directions of the sign.  When authorized marks, buttons, or other
indications are placed within an intersection indicating the course to be travelled by vehicles, no driver
of a vehicle shall disobey the directions of the indications. 

§ 70.41  STOP AND YIELD SIGNS.

(A) Preferential right-of-way at an intersection may be indicated by stop signs or yield signs as
authorized in ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 11-302.

(B) Except when directed to proceed by a police officer or traffic-control signal, every driver of a
vehicle and every motorman of a streetcar approaching a stop intersection indicated by a stop sign shall
stop before entering the crosswalk on the near side of the intersection or, in the event there is no
crosswalk, shall stop at a clearly marked stop line, but if none, then at the point nearest the intersection
roadway where the driver has a view of approaching traffic on the intersecting roadway before entering
the intersection.

(C) The driver of a vehicle approaching a yield sign if required for safety to stop shall stop before
entering the crosswalk on the near side of the intersection or, in the event there is no crosswalk, at a
clearly marked stop line, but if none, then at the point nearest the intersecting roadway where the driver
has a view of approaching traffic on the intersecting roadway.
(ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 11-1204)  Penalty, see § 70.99
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§ 70.99  PENALTY.

(A) Whoever violates any provision of this traffic code for which another penalty is not already
otherwise provided by ordinance or by appropriate statutory penalty as generally set forth in ILCS Ch.
625, Act 5, §§ 16-101 et seq. shall, upon conviction, be subject to a fine of not less than $50 nor more
than $750.

(B) Any person convicted of violating § 70.10 is guilty of a petty offense and shall be subject to a
mandatory fine of $150.  (ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 11-203)
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CHAPTER 71:  RULES OF OPERATION

Section

Speed Restrictions

71.001 Speed limits
71.002 Special speed limits while passing schools
71.003 Maximum attainable operating speed
71.004 Minimum speed regulation

Turning and Starting; Signals

71.020 Required position and method of turning at intersections
71.021 Limitations on U-turns
71.022 Starting parked vehicle
71.023 When signal required
71.024 Signal by hand and arm or signal device
71.025 Method of giving hand and arm signals

Overtaking and Passing

71.040 Driving on right side of roadway; exceptions
71.041 Passing vehicles proceeding in opposite directions
71.042 Overtaking vehicles on the left
71.043 When overtaking on the right is permitted
71.044 Limitations on overtaking on the left
71.045 Meeting or overtaking school bus
71.046 One-way roadways and rotary traffic islands
71.047 No-passing zones
71.048 Driving on roadways laned for traffic

Right-of-Way

71.060 Vehicles approaching or entering intersection
71.061 Vehicle turning left
71.062 Vehicles entering stop crosswalk
71.063 Vehicle entering stop or yield intersection
71.064 Merging traffic
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71.065 Vehicle entering highway from private road or driveway
71.066 Operation of vehicles on approach of authorized emergency vehicles
71.067 Funeral processions

Special Stops Required

71.080 Obedience to signal indicating approach of train or railroad track equipment
71.081 Certain vehicles must stop at all railroad grade crossings
71.082 Emerging from alley, building, private road, or driveway
71.083 Stop when traffic obstructed

Prohibitions

71.095 Backing
71.096 Following vehicle too closely
71.097 Obstruction of driver's view or driving mechanism
71.098 Opening vehicle doors
71.099 Coasting
71.100 Following fire apparatus; driving over fire hose
71.101 Driving upon sidewalk
71.102 Use of roller skates, coasters, or similar devices
71.103 Putting glass or other hazardous materials on highway prohibited
71.104 Obstructing person in highways
71.105 Farm tractor operation
71.106 Driving on controlled-access highway

Parades

71.120 Definitions
71.121 Permit required
71.122 Application for permit
71.123 Standards for issuance of permit
71.124 Notice of rejection of permit application
71.125 Appeal procedure when permit denied
71.126 Alternative permit
71.127 Notice to city and other officials when permit issued
71.128 Contents of permit
71.129 Duties of permittee
71.130 Public conduct during parades
71.131 Revocation of permit

Cross-reference:
Impoundment of motor vehicle, see Chapter 79
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SPEED RESTRICTIONS

§ 71.001  SPEED LIMITS.

(A) No vehicle may be driven upon any highway of this city at a speed which is greater than is
reasonable and proper with regard to traffic conditions and the use of the highway, or which endangers
the safety of any person or property.  The fact that the speed of a vehicle does not exceed the applicable
maximum speed limit does not relieve the driver from the duty to decrease speed when approaching and
crossing an intersection, when approaching and going around a curve, when approaching a hillcrest,
when traveling upon any narrow or winding roadway, or when a special hazard exists with respect to
pedestrians or other traffic or by reason of weather or highway conditions.  Speed must be decreased as
may be necessary to avoid colliding with any person or vehicle on or entering the highway in compliance
with legal requirements and the duty of all persons to use due care.

(B) No person may drive a vehicle upon any street at a speed which is greater than the applicable
statutory maximum speed limit established by divisions (C) and (D) below, by § 71.002, or by a
regulation or ordinance made under this chapter.

(C) Unless some other speed restriction is established under this chapter, the maximum speed limit
in an urban district (as defined in § 70.01) for all vehicles is:

(1) Thirty miles per hour; and

(2) Fifteen miles per hour in an alley.

(D) Unless some other speed restriction is established under this chapter, the maximum speed limit
shall be as determined under ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 11-601.
(ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 11-601)  Penalty, see § 70.99
Statutory reference:

Authority to regulate speed, see ILCS Ch. 65, Act 5, § 11-40-1 and Ch. 625, Act 5, § 11-604

§ 71.002  SPECIAL SPEED LIMITS WHILE PASSING SCHOOLS.

(A) For the purpose of this section, SCHOOL means the following entities:

(1) A public or private primary or secondary school.

(2) A primary or secondary school operated by a religious institution.

(3) A public, private, or religious nursery school.
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(B) On a school day when school children are present and so close thereto that a potential hazard
exists because of the close proximity of the motorized traffic, no person shall drive a motor vehicle at
a speed in excess of 20 miles per hour while passing a school zone or while traveling on a roadway on
public school property or upon any public thoroughfare where children pass going to and from school. 

(C) For the purpose of this section a SCHOOL DAY shall begin at 7:00 a.m. and shall conclude at
4:00 p.m.

(D) This section shall not be applicable unless appropriate signs are posted upon streets and
highways under their respective jurisdiction and maintained by the city.  With regard to the special speed
limit while passing schools, such signs shall give proper due warning that a school zone is being
approached and shall indicate the school zone and the maximum speed limit in effect during school days
when school children are present.

(E) Nothing in this section shall prohibit the use of electronic speed-detecting devices within 500
feet of signs within a special school speed zone indicating such zone, as defined in this section, nor shall
evidence obtained thereby be inadmissible in any prosecution for speeding provided the use of such
device shall apply only to the enforcement of the speed limit in such special school speed zone.

(F) (1) Except as provided in division (F)(2) below, a person who violates this section is guilty of
a petty offense. Violations of this section are punishable with a minimum fine of $150 for the first
violation and a minimum fine of $300 for the second or subsequent violation.

(2) A person committing a violation of this section is guilty of aggravated special speed limit
while passing schools when he or she drives a motor vehicle at a speed that is:

(a) Twenty-six miles per hour or more but less than 35 miles per hour in excess of the
applicable special speed limit established under this section and is guilty of a Class B misdemeanor;

(b) Thirty-five miles per hour or more in excess of the applicable special speed limit
established under this section and is guilty of a Class A misdemeanor.
(ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 11-605)  Penalty, see § 70.99
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§ 71.003  MAXIMUM ATTAINABLE OPERATING SPEED.

No person shall drive or operate any motor vehicle on any street or highway in this city where the
minimum allowable speed on that street or highway, as posted, is greater than the maximum attainable
operating speed of the vehicle.  Maximum attainable operating speed shall be determined by the
manufacturer of the vehicle and clearly published in the manual of specifications and operation, or it
shall be determined by applicable rule and regulation promulgated by the Secretary of State.
(ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 11-611)  Penalty, see § 70.99

§ 71.004  MINIMUM SPEED REGULATION.

No person shall drive a motor vehicle at such a slow speed as to impede or block the normal and
regular movement of traffic except when reduced speed is necessary for safe operation of his vehicle or
in compliance with law.
(ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 11-606(a))  Penalty, see § 70.99

TURNING AND STARTING; SIGNALS

§ 71.020  REQUIRED POSITION AND METHOD OF TURNING AT INTERSECTIONS.

(A) The driver of a vehicle intending to turn at an intersection shall do so as follows:

(1) Both the approach for a right turn and a right turn shall be made as close as practical to the
right-hand curb or edge of the roadway.

(2) The driver of a vehicle intending to turn left at any intersection shall approach the
intersection in the extreme left-hand lane lawfully available to traffic moving in the direction of travel
of such vehicle, and after entering the intersection, the left turn shall be made so as to leave the
intersection in a lane lawfully available to traffic moving in such direction upon the roadway being
entered.  Whenever practicable the left turn shall be made in that portion of the intersection to the left
of the center of the intersection.
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(3) The State Department of Transportation and local authorities in their respective jurisdictions
may cause official traffic-control devices to be placed within or adjacent to intersections and thereby
require and direct that a different course from that specified in this section be traveled by vehicles
turning at an intersection, and when such devices are so placed no driver of a vehicle shall turn a vehicle
at an intersection other than as directed and required by such devices.

(B) Two-way left turn lanes.  Where a special lane for making left turns by drivers proceeding in
opposite directions has been indicated by official traffic-control devices:

(1) A left turn shall not be made from any other lane.

(2) A vehicle shall not be driven in the lane except when preparing for or making a left turn
from or into the roadway or when preparing for or making a U-turn when otherwise permitted by law.
(ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 11-801)  Penalty, see § 70.99

§ 71.021  LIMITATIONS ON U-TURNS.

(A) The driver of any vehicle shall not turn the vehicle so as to proceed in the opposite direction
unless the movement can be made in safety and without interfering with other traffic.

(B) No vehicle shall be turned so as to proceed in the opposite direction upon any curve, or upon
the approach to or near the crest of a grade, where the vehicle cannot be seen by the driver of any other
vehicle approaching from either direction within 500 feet.
(ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 11-802)  Penalty, see § 70.99

§ 71.022  STARTING PARKED VEHICLE.

No person shall start a vehicle which is stopped, standing, or parked, unless and until the movement
can be made with reasonable safety.
(ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 11-803)  Penalty, see § 70.99

§ 71.023  WHEN SIGNAL REQUIRED.

(A) No person may turn a vehicle at an intersection unless the vehicle is in proper position upon the
roadway as required in § 71.020, or turn a vehicle to enter a private road or driveway, or otherwise turn
a vehicle from a direct course, or move right or left upon a roadway unless and until the movement can
be made with reasonable safety.  No person may so turn any vehicle without giving an appropriate signal
in the manner hereinafter provided.
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(B) A signal of intention to turn right or left when required must be given continuously during not
less than the last 100 feet traveled by the vehicle before turning within a business or residence district,
and the signal must be given continuously during not less than the last 200 feet traveled by the vehicle
before turning outside a business or residence district.

(C) No person may stop or suddenly decrease the speed of a vehicle without first giving an
appropriate signal in the manner provided in this chapter to the driver of any vehicle immediately to the
rear when there is opportunity to give a signal.

(D) The electric turn signal device required in ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 12-208 must be used to
indicate an intention to turn, change lanes, or start from a parallel parked position, but must not be
flashed on one side only on a parked or disabled vehicle, or flashed as a courtesy or “do pass” signal
to operators of other vehicles approaching from the rear.  However, signal devices may be flashed
simultaneously on both sides of a motor vehicle to indicate the presence of a vehicular traffic hazard
requiring unusual care in approaching, overtaking, and passing.
(ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 11-804)  Penalty, see § 70.99

§ 71.024  SIGNAL BY HAND AND ARM OR SIGNAL DEVICE.

Any stop or turn signal, when required herein, shall be given either by means of the hand and arm
or by an electric turn signal device conforming to the requirements provided in ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5,
§ 12-208.
(ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 11-805)  Penalty, see § 70.99

§ 71.025  METHOD OF GIVING HAND AND ARM SIGNALS.

All signals given by hand and arm shall be given from the left side of the vehicle in the following
manner, and the signals shall indicate as follows:

(A) Left turn. Hand and arm extended horizontally.

(B) Right turn.  Hand and arm extended upward, except that a person operating a bicycle may
extend the right hand and arm horizontally and to the right side of the bicycle.

(C) Stop or decrease of speed.  Hand and arm extended downward.
(ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 11-806)  Penalty, see § 70.99
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OVERTAKING AND PASSING

§ 71.040  DRIVING ON RIGHT SIDE OF ROADWAY; EXCEPTIONS.

(A) Upon all roadways of sufficient width, a vehicle shall be driven upon the right half of the
roadway, except as follows:

(1) When overtaking and passing another vehicle proceeding in the same direction under the
rules governing those movements;
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(2) When an obstruction exists making it necessary to drive to the left of the center of the
roadway; provided, any person so doing shall yield the right-of-way to all vehicles traveling in the
proper direction upon the unobstructed portion of the roadway within such distance as to constitute an
immediate hazard;

(3) Upon a roadway divided into three marked lanes for traffic under the rules applicable
thereon;

(4) Upon a roadway restricted to one-way traffic;

(5) Whenever there is a single-track paved road on one side of the public highway and two
vehicles meet thereon, the driver on whose right is the wider shoulder shall give the right-of-way on the
pavement to the other vehicle.

(B) Upon a two lane roadway, providing for two-way movement of traffic, a vehicle shall be driven
in the right-hand lane available for traffic, or as close as practicable to the right-hand curb or edge of
the roadway, except when overtaking and passing another vehicle proceeding in the same direction, or
when preparing for a left turn at an intersection or into a private road or driveway.

(C) Upon any roadway having four or more lanes for moving traffic, and providing for two-way
movement of traffic, no vehicle shall be driven to the left of the center line of the roadway, except when
authorized by official traffic-control devices designating certain lanes to the left side of the center of the
roadway for use by traffic not otherwise permitted to use the lanes, or except as permitted under division
(A)(2).  However, this division shall not be construed as prohibiting the crossing of the center line in
making a left turn into or from an alley, private road, or driveway.

(D) Upon an interstate highway or fully access controlled freeway, a vehicle may not be driven in
the left lane, except when overtaking and passing another vehicle.

(E) Division (D) of this section does not apply:

(1) When no other vehicle is directly behind the vehicle in the left lane;

(2) When traffic conditions and congestion make it impractical to drive in the right lane;

(3) When snow and other inclement weather conditions make it necessary to drive in the left
lane;

(4) When obstructions or hazards exist in the right lane;

(5) When a vehicle changes lanes to comply with ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, §§ 11-907, 11-907.5
and 11-908;

(6) When, because of highway design, a vehicle must be driven in the left lane when preparing
to exit;
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(7) On toll highways when necessary to use I-Pass, and on toll and other highways when
driving in the left lane is required to comply with an official traffic control device; or

(8) To law enforcement vehicles, ambulances and other emergency vehicles engaged in official
duties and vehicles engaged in highway maintenance and construction operations.
(ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 11-701)  Penalty, see § 70.99

§ 71.041  PASSING VEHICLES PROCEEDING IN OPPOSITE DIRECTIONS.

Drivers of vehicles proceeding in opposite directions shall pass each other to the right and upon
roadways having width for not more than one line of traffic in each direction, each driver shall give to
the other at least 1/2 of the main traveled portion of the roadway as nearly as possible. 
(ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 11-702)  Penalty, see § 70.99

§ 71.042  OVERTAKING VEHICLES ON THE LEFT.

The following rules govern the overtaking and passing of vehicles proceeding in the same direction,
subject to those limitations, exceptions, and special rules otherwise stated in this chapter:

(A) The driver of a vehicle overtaking another vehicle proceeding in the same direction shall pass
to the left thereof at a safe distance and shall not again drive to the right side of the roadway until safely
clear of the overtaken vehicle.  In no event shall such movement be made by driving off the pavement
or the main traveled portion of the roadway.

(B) Except when overtaking and passing on the right is permitted, the driver of an overtaken vehicle
shall give way to the right in favor of the overtaking vehicle on audible signal and shall not increase the
speed of his vehicle until completely passed by the overtaking vehicle.

(C) The driver of a two-wheeled vehicle may not, in passing upon the left of any vehicle proceeding
in the same direction, pass upon the right of any vehicle proceeding in the same direction unless there
is an unobstructed lane of traffic available to permit such passing maneuver safely.

(D) The operator of a motor vehicle overtaking a bicycle or individual proceeding in the same
direction on a highway shall leave a safe distance, but not less than three feet, when passing the bicycle
or individual and shall maintain that distance until safely past the overtaken bicycle or individual.

(E) A driver of a motor vehicle overtaking a bicycle proceeding in the same direction on a highway
may, subject to the provisions in division (D) and ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 11-706, pass to the left of the
bicycle on a portion of the highway designated as a no-passing zone under ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5,
§ 11-707 if the driver is able to overtake and pass the bicycle when:

(1) The bicycle is traveling at a speed of less than half of the posted speed limit of the highway;
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(2) The driver is able to overtake and pass the bicycle without exceeding the posted speed limit
of the highway; and

(3) There is sufficient distance to the left of the centerline of the highway for the motor vehicle
to meet the overtaking and passing requirements under this section.

(F) A person driving a motor vehicle shall not, in a reckless manner, drive the motor vehicle
unnecessarily close to, toward, or near a bicyclist, pedestrian, or a person riding a horse or driving an
animal drawn vehicle.

(G) Every person convicted of division (F) of this section shall be guilty of a Class A misdemeanor
if the violation does not result in great bodily harm or permanent disability or disfigurement to another.
If the violation results in great bodily harm or permanent disability or disfigurement to another, the
person shall be guilty of a Class 3 felony, to be prosecuted under appropriate state law.
(ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 11-703)  Penalty, see § 70.99

§ 71.043  WHEN OVERTAKING ON THE RIGHT IS PERMITTED.

(A) The driver of a vehicle with three or more wheels may overtake and pass upon the right of
another vehicle only under the following conditions:

(1) When the vehicle overtaken is making or about to make a left turn;

(2) Upon a roadway with unobstructed pavement of sufficient width for two or more lines of
vehicles moving lawfully in the direction being traveled by the overtaking vehicle;

(3) Upon a one-way street, or upon any roadway on which traffic is restricted to one direction
of movement, where the roadway is free from obstructions and of sufficient width for two or more lines
of moving vehicles.

(B) The driver of a two-wheeled vehicle may not pass upon the right of any other vehicle proceeding
in the same direction unless the unobstructed pavement to the right of the vehicle being passed is of a
width of not less than eight feet. This division (B) does not apply to devices propelled by human power.

(C) The driver of a vehicle may overtake and pass another vehicle upon the right only under
conditions permitting the movement in safety.  Such movement shall not be made by driving off the
roadway.
(ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 11-704)  Penalty, see § 70.99

§ 71.044  LIMITATIONS ON OVERTAKING ON THE LEFT.

(A) Passing on the left.
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(1) No vehicle shall be driven to the left side of the center of the roadway in overtaking and
passing another vehicle proceeding in the same direction unless authorized by the provisions of this
chapter, and unless the left side is clearly visible and is free of oncoming traffic for a sufficient distance
ahead to permit the overtaking and passing to be completely made without interfering with the safe
operation of any vehicle approaching from the opposite direction, or any vehicle overtaken.

(2) In every event, the overtaking vehicle must return to an authorized lane of travel as soon
as practicable, and in the event the passing movement involves the use of a lane authorized for vehicles
approaching from the opposite direction, before coming within 200 feet of any vehicle approaching from
the opposite direction.
(ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 11-705)

(B) Conditions where passing on the left is prohibited.

(1) No vehicle shall be driven on the left side of the roadway under the following conditions:

(a) When approaching or upon the crest of a grade or a curve in the highway where the
driver's view is obstructed within a distance as to create a hazard in the event another vehicle might
approach from the opposite direction.

(b) When approaching within 100 feet of or traversing any intersection or railroad grade
crossing.

(c) When the view is obstructed upon approaching within 100 feet of any bridge, viaduct,
or tunnel.

(2) The limitations in division (B)(1) above do not apply upon a one-way roadway, nor upon
a roadway with unobstructed pavement of sufficient width for two or more lanes of moving traffic in
each direction, nor to the driver of a vehicle turning left into or from an alley, private road, or driveway
when the movements can be made with safety.
(ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 11-706)  Penalty, see § 70.99

§ 71.045  MEETING OR OVERTAKING SCHOOL BUS.

(A) The driver of a vehicle shall stop such vehicle before meeting or overtaking, from either
direction, any school bus stopped on a highway, roadway, private road, parking lot, school property,
or at any other location, including, without limitation, a location that is not a highway or roadway for
the purpose of receiving or discharging pupils.  Such stop is required before reaching the school bus
when there is in operation on the school bus the visual signals as specified in ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5,
§§ 12-803 and 12-805.  The driver of the vehicle shall not proceed until the school bus resumes motion
or the driver of the vehicle is signaled by the school bus driver to proceed or the visual signals are no
longer actuated. 
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(B) The stop signal arm required by ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 12-803 shall be extended after the
school bus has come to a complete stop for the purpose of loading or discharging pupils and shall be
closed before the school bus is placed in motion again. The stop signal arm shall not be extended at any
other time.

(C) The alternately flashing red signal lamps of an eight-lamp flashing signal system required by
ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 12-805 shall be actuated after the school bus has come to a complete stop for
the purpose of loading or discharging pupils and shall be turned off before the school bus is placed in
motion again.  The red signal lamps shall not be actuated at any other time except as provided in division
(D) of this section.

(D) (1) The alternately flashing amber signal lamps of an eight-lamp flashing signal system required
by ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 12-805 shall be actuated continuously during not less than the last 100 feet
traveled by the school bus before stopping for the purpose of loading or discharging pupils within an 
urban area and during not less than the last 200 feet traveled by the school bus outside an urban area.
The amber signal lamps shall remain actuated until the school bus is stopped.  The amber signal lamps
shall not be actuated at any other time.

(2) The alternately flashing head lamps permitted by ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 12-805 may be
operated while the alternately flashing red or amber signal lamps required by that section are actuated.

(E) The driver of a vehicle upon a highway having four or more lanes which permits at least two
lanes of traffic to travel in opposite directions need not stop such vehicle upon meeting a school bus
which is stopped in the opposing roadway; and need not stop such vehicle when driving upon a
controlled access highway when passing a school bus traveling in either direction that is stopped in a
loading zone adjacent to the surfaced or improved part of the controlled access highway where
pedestrians are not permitted to cross. 

(F) (1) The Secretary of State shall suspend for a period of three months the driving privileges of
any person convicted of a violation of division (A) of this section or a similar provision of a local
ordinance; the Secretary shall suspend for a period of one year the driving privileges of any person
convicted of a second or subsequent violation of division (A) of this section or a similar provision of a
local ordinance if the second or subsequent violation occurs within five years of a prior conviction for
the same offense. In addition to the suspensions authorized by this section, any person convicted of
violating this section or a similar provision of a local ordinance shall be subject to a mandatory fine of
$300 or, upon a second or subsequent violation, $1,000. The Secretary may also grant, for the duration
of any suspension issued under this division, a restricted driving permit granting the privilege of driving
a motor vehicle between the driver's residence and place of employment or within other proper limits
that the Secretary of State shall find necessary to avoid any undue hardship. A restricted driving permit
issued hereunder shall be subject to cancellation, revocation and suspension by the Secretary of State in
like manner and for like cause as a driver's license may be cancelled, revoked or suspended; except that
a conviction upon one or more offenses against laws or ordinances regulating the movement of traffic
shall be deemed sufficient cause for the revocation, suspension or cancellation of the restricted driving
permit. The Secretary of State may, as a condition to the issuance of a restricted driving permit, require
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the applicant to participate in a designated driver remedial or rehabilitative program. Any conviction for
a violation of this division shall be included as an offense for the purposes of determining suspension
action under any other provision of this chapter, provided however, that the penalties provided under
this division shall be imposed unless those penalties imposed under other applicable provisions are
greater.

(2) The owner of any vehicle alleged to have violated division (A) of this section shall, upon
appropriate demand by the State's Attorney or other designated person acting in response to a signed
complaint, provide a written statement or deposition identifying the operator of the vehicle if such
operator was not the owner at the time of the alleged violation. Failure to supply such information shall
result in the suspension of the vehicle registration of the vehicle for a period of three months. In the
event the owner has assigned control for the use of the vehicle to another, the person to whom control
was assigned shall comply with the provisions of this division and be subject to the same penalties as
herein provided.
(ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 11-1414)  Penalty, see § 70.99

§ 71.046  ONE-WAY ROADWAYS AND ROTARY TRAFFIC ISLANDS.

(A) Upon a roadway designated for one-way traffic, a vehicle shall be driven only in the direction
designated at all or such times as shall be indicated by official traffic-control devices.

(B) A vehicle passing around a rotary traffic island must be driven only to the right of the island.

(C) Whenever any highway has been divided into two or more roadways by leaving an intervening
space or by a physical barrier or a clearly indicated dividing section so constructed as to impede
vehicular traffic, every vehicle must be driven only upon the right-hand roadway unless directed or
permitted to use another roadway by official traffic-control devices or police officers.  No vehicle may
be driven over, across, or within any dividing space, barrier, or section except through an opening in
the physical barrier, or dividing section, or space, or at a cross-over or intersection as established by
public authority.

(D) The driver of a vehicle may turn left across a paved noncurbed dividing space unless prohibited
by an official traffic-control device.
(ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 11-708)  Penalty, see § 70.99

§ 71.047  NO-PASSING ZONES.

(A) The City Council is authorized to determine those portions of any highway within the city where
overtaking and passing or driving on the left of the roadway would be especially hazardous, and may
by appropriate signs or markings on the roadway indicate the beginning and end of the zones, and when
signs or markings are in place and clearly visible to an ordinarily observant person, every driver of a
vehicle shall obey the directions thereof.
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(B) Where signs or markings are in place to define a no-passing zone as set forth in division (A)
no driver may at any time drive on the left side of the roadway within the no-passing zone or on the left
side of any pavement striping designed to mark the no-passing zone throughout its length.

(C) This section does not apply under the conditions described in § 71.040 (A)(2), § 71.042(E), nor
to the driver of a vehicle turning left into or from an alley, private road, or driveway.  The pavement
striping designed to mark the no-passing zone may be crossed from the left-hand lane for the purpose
of completing a pass that was begun prior to the beginning of the zone in the driver's direction of travel.
(ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 11-707)  Penalty, see § 70.99

§ 71.048  DRIVING ON ROADWAYS LANED FOR TRAFFIC.

Whenever any roadway has been divided into two or more clearly marked lanes for traffic the
following rules in addition to all others consistent herewith shall apply.

(A) A vehicle shall be driven as nearly as practicable entirely within a single lane and shall not be
moved from such lane until the driver has first ascertained that such movement can be made with safety.

(B) Upon a roadway which is divided into three lanes and provides for two-way movement of
traffic, a vehicle shall not be driven in the center lane except when overtaking and passing another
vehicle traveling in the same direction when such center lane is clear of traffic within a safe distance,
or in preparation for making a left turn or where such center lane is at the time allocated exclusively to
traffic moving in the same direction that the vehicle is proceeding and such allocation is designated by
official traffic-control devices.

(C) Official traffic-control devices may be erected directing specific traffic to use a designated lane
or designating those lanes to be used by traffic moving in a particular direction regardless of the center
of the roadway and drivers of vehicles shall obey the directions of every such device.  Drivers must obey
lane designation signing except when it is necessary to use a different lane to make a turning maneuver.

(D) Official traffic-control devices may be installed prohibiting the changing of lanes on sections
of roadway and drivers of vehicles shall obey the directions of every such device.

(E) A person is not in violation of this section if he or she is complying with ILCS Ch. 625, Act
5, §§ 11-907, 11-907.5 or 11-908.
(ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 11-709)  Penalty, see § 70.99
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RIGHT-OF-WAY

§ 71.060  VEHICLES APPROACHING OR ENTERING INTERSECTION.

When two vehicles approach or enter an intersection from different roadways at approximately the
same time, the driver of the vehicle on the left must yield the right-of-way to the vehicle on the right. 
This rule may be modified at through highways or streets and where otherwise inconsistent with the
provisions of this traffic code.
(ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 11-901)  Penalty, see § 70.99

§ 71.061  VEHICLE TURNING LEFT.

The driver of a vehicle intending to turn to the left within an intersection or into an alley, private
road, or driveway shall yield the right-of-way to any vehicle approaching from the opposite direction
which is so close as to constitute an immediate hazard, but the driver, having so yielded, may proceed
as soon as a safe interval occurs.
(ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 11-902)  Penalty, see § 70.99

§ 71.062  VEHICLES ENTERING STOP CROSSWALK.

Where stop signs or flashing red signals are in place at an intersection, or flashing red signals are
in place at a plainly marked crosswalk between intersections, drivers of vehicles shall stop before
entering the nearest crosswalk, and pedestrians within or entering the crosswalk at either edge of the
roadway shall have the right-of-way over vehicles so stopped.  Drivers of vehicles having so yielded the
right-of-way to pedestrians entering or within the nearest crosswalk at an intersection shall also yield the
right-of-way to pedestrians within any other crosswalk at the intersection.
(ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 11-903)  Penalty, see § 70.99

§ 71.063  VEHICLE ENTERING STOP OR YIELD INTERSECTION.

(A) Preferential right-of-way at an intersection may be indicated by stop or yield signs.

(B) Except when directed to proceed by a police officer or traffic-control signal, every driver of a
vehicle approaching a stop intersection indicated by a stop sign shall stop at a clearly marked stop line
but if none, before entering the crosswalk on the near side of the intersection, or if none, then at the
point nearest the intersecting roadway where the driver has a view of approaching traffic on the
intersecting roadway before entering the intersection. After having stopped, the driver shall yield the
right-of-way to any vehicle which has entered the intersection from another roadway, or which is
approaching so closely on the roadway as to constitute an immediate hazard during the time when the
driver is moving across or within the intersection, but the driver, having so yielded, may proceed as soon
as a safe interval occurs.
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(C) The driver of a vehicle approaching a yield sign shall, in obedience to the sign, slow down to
a speed reasonable for the existing conditions, and, if required for safety to stop, shall stop at a clearly
marked stop line, but if none, before entering the crosswalk on the near side of the intersection, of if
none, then at the point nearest the intersecting roadway where the driver has a view of approaching
traffic on the intersecting roadway.  After slowing or stopping, the driver shall yield the right-of-way
to any vehicle in the intersection or approaching on another roadway so closely as to constitute an
immediate hazard during the time the driver is moving across or within the intersection.

(D) If a driver is involved in a collision at an intersection or interferes with the movement of other
vehicles after driving past a yield right-of-way sign, the collision or interference shall be deemed prima
facie evidence of the driver's failure to yield right-of-way.
(ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 11-904)  Penalty, see § 70.99

§ 71.064  MERGING TRAFFIC.

Notwithstanding the right-of-way provision in § 71.060, at an intersection where traffic lanes are
provided for merging traffic, the driver of each vehicle on the converging roadways is required to adjust
his vehicular speed and lateral position so as to avoid a collision with another vehicle.
(ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 11-905)  Penalty, see § 70.99

§ 71.065  VEHICLE ENTERING HIGHWAY FROM PRIVATE ROAD OR DRIVEWAY.

The driver of a vehicle about to enter or cross a highway from an alley, building, private road, or
driveway shall yield the right-of-way to all vehicles approaching on the highway to be entered.
(ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 11-906)  Penalty, see § 70.99

§ 71.066  OPERATION OF VEHICLES ON APPROACH OF AUTHORIZED EMERGENCY
VEHICLES.

(A) Upon the immediate approach of an authorized emergency vehicle making use of audible and
visual signals meeting the requirements of this chapter or a police vehicle properly and lawfully making
use of an audible or visual signal; the driver of every other vehicle shall yield the right-of-way and shall
immediately drive to a position parallel to, and as close as possible to, the right-hand edge or curb of the
highway clear of any intersection and shall, if necessary to permit the safe passage of the emergency
vehicle, stop and remain in such position until the authorized emergency vehicle has passed, unless
otherwise directed by a police officer.

(B) This section shall not operate to relieve the driver of an authorized emergency vehicle from the
duty to drive with due regard for the safety of all persons using the highway.
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(C) Upon approaching a stationary authorized emergency vehicle, when the authorized emergency
vehicle is giving a signal by displaying alternately flashing red, red and white, blue, or red and blue
lights or amber or yellow warning lights, a person who drives an approaching vehicle shall:

(1) Proceeding with due caution, yield the right-of-way by making a lane change into a lane
not adjacent to that of the authorized emergency vehicle, if possible with due regard to safety and traffic
conditions, if on a highway having at least four lanes with not less than two lanes proceeding in the same
direction as the approaching vehicle; or

(2) If changing lanes would be impossible or unsafe, proceeding with due caution, reduce the
speed of the vehicle, maintaining a safe speed for road conditions and leaving a safe distance until safely
past the stationary vehicles.

(D) As used in division (C) of this section, AUTHORIZED EMERGENCY VEHICLE includes any
vehicle authorized by law to be equipped with oscillating, rotating, or flashing lights under ILCS Ch.
625, Act 5, § 12-215, while the owner or operator of the vehicle is engaged in his or her official duties.

(E) A person who violates division (C) of this section commits a business offense punishable by a
fine of not less than $100 or more than $10,000.  It is a factor in aggravation if the person committed
the offense while in violation of ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 11-501.  Imposition of the penalties authorized
by this division for a violation of division (C) of this section that results in the death of another person
does not preclude imposition of appropriate additional civil or criminal penalties.

(F) If a violation of division (C) of this section results in damage to the property of another person,
in addition to any other penalty imposed, the person's driving privileges shall be suspended for a fixed
period of not less than 90 days and not more than one year.

(G) If a violation of division (C) of this section results in injury to another person, in addition to
any other penalty imposed, the person's driving privileges shall be suspended for a fixed period of not
less than 180 days and not more than two years.

(H) If a violation of division (C) of this section results in the death of another person, in addition
to any other penalty imposed, the person's driving privileges shall be suspended for two years.

(I) The Secretary of State shall, upon receiving a record of a judgment entered against a person
under division (C) of this section:

(1) Suspend the person's driving privileges for the mandatory period; or

(2) Extend the period of an existing suspension by the appropriate mandatory period.
(ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 11-907)  Penalty, see § 70.99

2021 S-10



Rules of Operation 38A

§ 71.067  FUNERAL PROCESSIONS.

(A) Funeral processions have the right-of-way at intersections when vehicles comprising such
procession have their headlights and hazard lights lighted, subject to the following conditions and
exceptions:

(1) Operators of vehicles in a funeral procession shall yield the right-of-way upon the approach
of an authorized emergency vehicle giving an audible or visible signal;

(2) Operators of vehicles in a funeral procession shall yield the right-of-way when directed to
do so by a traffic officer;

(3) The operator of the leading vehicle in a funeral procession shall comply with stop signs and
traffic control signals but when the leading vehicle has proceeded across an intersection in accordance
with such signal or after stopping as required by the stop sign, all vehicles in such procession may
proceed without stopping, regardless of the sign or signal and the leading vehicle and the vehicles in
procession shall proceed with due caution.

(B) The operator of a vehicle not in the funeral procession shall not drive his vehicle in the funeral
procession except when authorized to do so by a traffic officer or when such vehicle is an authorized
emergency vehicle giving audible or visible signal.

(C) Operators of vehicles not a part of a funeral procession may not form a procession or convoy
and have their headlights or hazard lights or both lighted for the purpose of securing the right-of-way
granted by this section to funeral processions. 

(D) The operator of a vehicle not in a funeral procession may overtake and pass the vehicles in such
procession if such overtaking and passing can be accomplished without causing a traffic hazard or
interfering with such procession. 

(E) The lead vehicle in the funeral procession may be equipped with a flashing amber light which
may be used only when such vehicle is used as a lead vehicle in such procession. Vehicles comprising
a funeral procession may utilize funeral pennants or flags or windshield stickers or flashing hazard
warning signal flashers to identify the individual vehicles in such a procession.

(F) In the absence of law enforcement traffic control assistance for a funeral procession, a funeral
director or his or her designee may direct traffic during a funeral procession.
(ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 11-1420)  Penalty, see § 70.99
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SPECIAL STOPS REQUIRED

§ 71.080  OBEDIENCE TO SIGNAL INDICATING APPROACH OF TRAIN OR RAILROAD
TRACK EQUIPMENT.

(A) Whenever any person driving a vehicle approaches a railroad grade crossing where the driver
is not always required to stop, the person must exercise due care and caution as the existence of a
railroad track across a highway is a warning of danger, and under any of the circumstances stated in this
Section, the driver shall stop within 50 feet but not less than 15 feet from the nearest rail of the railroad
and shall not proceed until the tracks are clear and he or she can do so safely. The foregoing
requirements shall apply when: 

(1) A clearly visible electric or mechanical signal device gives warning of the immediate
approach of a railroad train or railroad track equipment;

(2) A crossing gate is lowered or a human flagman gives or continues to give a signal of the
approach or passage of a railroad train or railroad track equipment;

(3) A railroad train or railroad track equipment approaching a highway crossing emits a
warning signal and such railroad train or railroad track equipment, by reason of its speed or nearness
to such crossing, is an immediate hazard;

(4) An approaching railroad train or railroad track equipment is plainly visible and is in
hazardous proximity to such crossing; or

(5) A railroad train or railroad track equipment is approaching so closely that an immediate
hazard is created.

(B) Whenever a person driving a vehicle approaches a railroad grade crossing where the driver is
not always required to stop but must slow down, the person must exercise due care and caution as the
existence of a railroad track across a highway is a warning of danger, and under any of the circumstances
stated in this section, the driver shall slow down within 50 feet but not less than 15 feet from the nearest
rail of the railroad and shall not proceed until he or she checks that the tracks are clear of an approaching
train or railroad track equipment. 

(C) No person shall drive any vehicle through, around or under any crossing gate or barrier at a
railroad crossing while such gate or barrier is closed or is being opened or closed.

(D) The Department, and local authorities with the approval of the Department, are hereby
authorized to designate particularly dangerous highway grade crossings of railroads and to erect stop
signs thereat.  When such stop signs are erected the driver of any vehicle shall stop within 50 feet but
not less than 15 feet from the nearest rail of such railroad and shall proceed only upon exercising due
care.

2021 S-10



Rules of Operation 38C

(E) At any railroad grade crossing provided with railroad crossbuck signs, without automatic,
electric, or mechanical signal devices, crossing gates, or a human flagman giving a signal of the
approach or passage of a train or railroad track equipment, the driver of a vehicle shall in obedience to
the railroad crossbuck sign, yield the right-of-way and slow down to a speed reasonable for the existing
conditions and shall stop, if required for safety, at a clearly marked stopped line, or if no stop line,
within 50 feet but not less than 15 feet from the nearest rail of the railroad and shall not proceed until
he or she can do so safely.  If a driver is involved in a collision at a railroad crossing or interferes with
the movement of a train or railroad track equipment after driving past the railroad crossbuck sign, the
collision or interference is prima facie evidence of the driver's failure to yield right-of-way. 

(F) No person shall, while driving a commercial motor vehicle, fail to negotiate a railroad-highway
grade railroad crossing because of insufficient undercarriage clearance.

(G) It is unlawful to violate any part of this section.

(1) A violation of this section is a petty offense for which a fine of $500 shall be imposed for
a first violation, and a fine of $1,000 shall be imposed for a second or subsequent violation.  The court
may impose 25 hours of community service in place of the $500 fine for the first violation.

(2) For a second or subsequent violation, the Secretary of State may suspend the driving
privileges of the offender for a minimum of six months.

(H) Corporate authorities of municipal corporations regulating operators of vehicles that fail to obey
signals indicating the presence, approach, passage, or departure of a train or railroad track equipment
shall impose fines as established in division (G) of this section.
(ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 11-1201)  Penalty, see § 70.99

§ 71.081  CERTAIN VEHICLES MUST STOP AT ALL RAILROAD GRADE CROSSINGS.

(A) The driver of any of the following vehicles shall, before crossing a railroad track or tracks at
grade, stop such vehicle within 50 feet but not less than 15 feet from the nearest rail and, while so
stopped, shall listen and look for the approach of a train or railroad track equipment and shall not
proceed until such movement can be made with safety:

(1) Any second division vehicle carrying passengers for hire;

(2) Any bus that meets all of the special requirements for school buses in ILCS Ch. 625, Act
5, §§ 12-801, 12-803, and 12-805.  The driver of the bus, in addition to complying with all other
applicable requirements of this division (A), must also turn off all noise producing accessories, including
heater blowers, defroster fans, auxiliary fans, and radios, and open the service door and driver's
window, before crossing a railroad track or tracks;
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(3) Any other vehicle which is required by federal or state law to be placarded when carrying
as a cargo or part of a cargo hazardous material as defined in the "Illinois Hazardous Materials
Transportation Act".  After stopping as required in this section, the driver shall proceed only in a gear
not requiring a change of gears during the crossing, and the driver shall not shift gears while crossing
the track or tracks.

(B) This section shall not apply:

(1) At any railroad grade crossing where traffic is controlled by a police officer or flagperson;

(2) At any railroad grade crossing controlled by a functioning traffic-control signal transmitting
a green indication which, under law, permits the vehicle to proceed across the railroad tracks without
slowing or stopping, except that division (A) of this section shall apply to any school bus;

(3) At any streetcar grade crossing within a business or residence district; or

(4) At any abandoned, industrial or spur track railroad grade crossing designated as exempt
by the Illinois Commerce Commission and marked with an official sign as authorized in the State Manual
on Uniform Traffic Control Devices for Streets and Highways.
(ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 11-1202)  Penalty, see § 70.99

§ 71.082  EMERGING FROM ALLEY, BUILDING, PRIVATE ROAD, OR DRIVEWAY.

The driver of a vehicle emerging from an alley, building, private road, or driveway within an urban
area shall stop the vehicle immediately prior to driving into the sidewalk area extending across the alley,
building entrance, road, or driveway, or in the event there is no sidewalk area, shall stop at the point
nearest the street to be entered where the driver has a view of approaching traffic thereon, and shall yield
the right-of-way to any pedestrians as may be necessary to avoid collision, and upon entering the
roadway, shall yield the right-of-way to all vehicles approaching on the roadway.
(ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 11-1205)  Penalty, see § 70.99

§ 71.083  STOP WHEN TRAFFIC OBSTRUCTED.

(A) No driver shall enter an intersection or a marked crosswalk or drive onto any railroad grade
crossing unless there is sufficient space on the other side of the intersection, crosswalk or railroad grade
crossing to accommodate the vehicle he is operating without obstructing the passage of other vehicles,
pedestrians or railroad trains notwithstanding any traffic-control signal indication to proceed. 

(B) No driver shall enter a highway rail grade crossing unless there is sufficient space on the other
side of the highway rail grade crossing to accommodate the vehicle being operated without obstructing
the passage of a train or other railroad equipment using the rails, notwithstanding any traffic-control
signal indication to proceed.
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(C) The Secretary of State shall suspend for a period of one month the driving privileges of any
person convicted of a violation of division (B) of this section or a similar provision of a local ordinance;
the Secretary shall suspend for a period of three months the driving privileges of any person convicted
of a second or subsequent violation of division (B) of this section or a similar provision of a local
ordinance if the second or subsequent violation occurs within five years of a prior conviction for the
same offense.  In addition to the suspensions authorized by this section, any person convicted of violating
division (B) of this section or a similar provision of a local ordinance shall be subject to a mandatory fine
of $500 or 50 hours of community service.  Any person given a disposition of court supervision for
violating division (B) of this section or a similar provision of a local ordinance shall also be subject to
a mandatory fine of $500 or 50 hours of community service.  Upon a second or subsequent violation,
in addition to the suspensions authorized by this section, the person shall be subject to a mandatory fine
of $500 and 50 hours community service.  The Secretary may also grant, for the duration of any
suspension issued under this division, a restricted driving permit granting the privilege of driving a
motor vehicle between the driver's residence and place of employment or within other proper limits that
the Secretary of State shall find necessary to avoid any undue hardship.  A restricted driving permit
issued hereunder shall be subject to cancellation, revocation and suspension by the Secretary of State in
like manner and for like cause as a driver's license may be cancelled, revoked or suspended; except that
a conviction upon one or more offenses against laws or ordinances regulating the movement of traffic
shall be deemed sufficient cause for the revocation, suspension or cancellation of the restricted driving
permit.  The Secretary of State may, as a condition to the issuance of a restricted driving permit, require
the applicant to participate in a designated driver remedial or rehabilitative program.  Any conviction
for a violation of this division shall be included as an offense for the purposes of determining suspension
action under any other provision of this Code, provided however, that the penalties provided under this
division shall be imposed unless those penalties imposed under other applicable provisions are greater.
(ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 11-1425)  Penalty, see § 70.99
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PROHIBITIONS

§ 71.095  BACKING.

(A) The driver of a vehicle shall not back the same unless the movement can be made with safety
and without interfering with other traffic.

(B) The driver of a vehicle shall not back the same upon any shoulder or roadway of any controlled-
access highway.
(ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 11-1402)  Penalty, see § 70.99

§ 71.096  FOLLOWING VEHICLE TOO CLOSELY.

The driver of a motor vehicle shall not follow another vehicle more closely than is reasonable and
prudent, having due regard for the speed of the vehicles and the traffic upon and conditions of the street
or highway.
(ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 11-710)  Penalty, see § 70.99

§ 71.097  OBSTRUCTION OF DRIVER'S VIEW OR DRIVING MECHANISM.

(A) No person shall drive a vehicle when it is so loaded, or when there are in the front seat such
number of persons, exceeding three, as to obstruct the view of the driver to the front or sides of the
vehicle, or as to interfere with the driver's control over the driving mechanism of the vehicle.

(B) No passenger in a vehicle or streetcar shall ride in a position as to interfere with the driver's
or motorman's view ahead or to the sides, or to interfere with his control over the driving mechanism
of the vehicle or streetcar.

(C) No passenger on a school bus may ride or stand in a position as to interfere with the driver's
view ahead or to the side or to the rear, or to interfere with his control of the driving mechanism of the
bus.
(ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 11-1406)  Penalty, see § 70.99

§ 71.098  OPENING VEHICLE DOORS.

No person shall open the door of a vehicle on the side available to moving traffic unless and until
it is reasonably safe to do so, and can be done without interfering with the movement of other traffic,
nor shall any person leave a door open on the side of a vehicle available to moving traffic for a period
of time longer than necessary to load or unload passengers.
(ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 11-1407)  Penalty, see § 70.99
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§ 71.099  COASTING.

(A) The driver of any motor vehicle when traveling upon a down grade shall not coast with the
gears or transmission of the vehicle in neutral.

(B) The driver of a truck or bus when traveling upon a down grade shall not coast with the clutch
disengaged.
(ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 11-1410)  Penalty, see § 70.99

§ 71.100  FOLLOWING FIRE APPARATUS; DRIVING OVER FIRE HOSE.

(A) The driver of any vehicle other than one on official business shall not follow any fire apparatus
traveling in response to a fire alarm closer than 500 feet or stop the vehicle within 500 feet of any fire
apparatus stopped in answer to a fire alarm. (ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 11-1411)

(B) No vehicle shall be driven over any unprotected hose of the Fire Department when laid down
on any street, private road, or driveway to be used at any fire or alarm of fire, without the consent of
the Fire Department official in command.  (ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 11-1412) 
Penalty, see § 70.99

§ 71.101  DRIVING UPON SIDEWALK.

(A) No person shall drive any vehicle upon a sidewalk or sidewalk area except upon a permanent
or duly authorized temporary driveway. 

(B) This section does not apply to any vehicle moved exclusively by human power nor to any
motorized wheelchair.
(ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 11-1412.1)  Penalty, see § 70.99

§ 71.102  USE OF ROLLER SKATES, COASTERS, OR SIMILAR DEVICES.

No person upon roller skates or riding in or by means of any coaster, toy vehicle, skateboard, or
similar device shall go upon any roadway except while crossing a street on a crosswalk and except upon
streets set aside as play streets when authorized by the traffic authority.

§ 71.103  PUTTING GLASS OR OTHER HAZARDOUS MATERIALS ON HIGHWAY
PROHIBITED.

(A) No person shall throw, spill or deposit upon any highway any bottle, glass, nails, tacks, wire,
cans, or any litter, as defined in the Litter Control Act, ILCS Ch. 415, Act 105, § 3.
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(B) Any person who violates division (A) upon any highway shall immediately remove the material
or cause it to be removed.

(C) Any person removing a wrecked or damaged vehicle from a highway shall remove any glass
or other debris, except any hazardous substance as defined in ILCS Ch. 415, Act 5, § 3.215, hazardous
waste as defined in ILCS Ch. 415, Act 5, § 3.220, and potentially infectious medical waste as defined
in ILCS Ch. 415, Act 5, § 3.360, dropped upon the highway from such vehicle.
(ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 11-1413)  Penalty, see § 70.99

§ 71.104  OBSTRUCTING PERSON IN HIGHWAYS.

No person shall willfully and unnecessarily hinder, obstruct, or delay, or willfully and unnecessarily
attempt to delay, hinder, or obstruct any other person in lawfully driving or traveling along or upon any
highway within this city, or offer for barter or sale merchandise on the highway so as to interfere with
the effective movement of traffic.
(ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 11-1416)  Penalty, see § 70.99

§ 71.105  FARM TRACTOR OPERATION.

(A) No person shall operate a farm tractor on a highway in this city unless the tractor is being used
as an implement of husbandry in connection with farming operations.

(B) For the purpose of this section, the use of a farm tractor as an implement of husbandry in
connection with farming operations shall be deemed to include use of the tractor in connection with the
transportation of agricultural products and of farm machinery, equipment, and supplies, as well as the
transportation of the implement of husbandry from its place of purchase to its place of storage, in
connection with the obtaining of repairs of the implement of husbandry, and the towing of a registered
truck of not more than 8,000 pounds for use as return transportation after the tractor is left at the place
of work or repair.
(ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 11-1418)  Penalty, see § 70.99

§ 71.106  DRIVING ON CONTROLLED-ACCESS HIGHWAY.

No person may drive a vehicle onto or from any controlled-access highway except at entrances and
exits established by public authority.
(ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 11-711)  Penalty, see § 70.99
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PARADES

§ 71.120  DEFINITIONS.

For the purpose of this subchapter the following definitions shall apply unless the context clearly
indicates or requires a different meaning.

CRUISING.  The repeated operation of two or more vehicles in a continuous or nearly continuous
flow through a parking lot.

PARADE.  Any parade, march, ceremony, show, exhibition, pageant, or procession of any kind,
or any similar display in or on any street, sidewalk, park, or other public place in the city, or
CRUISING as defined above.

PARADE PERMIT.  A permit required by this subchapter.

PARKING LOT.  Any paved or unpaved area used by a place of business or shopping center for
the parking of vehicles of their customers, but shall not include those operated for hire.

§ 71.121  PERMIT REQUIRED.

(A) No person or persons shall engage or participate in, aid, form, or start any parade unless a
parade permit has been obtained from the Chief of Police or other authorized city official.

(B) This subchapter shall not apply to:

(1) Funeral processions;

(2) Students going to and from school classes or participating in educational activities, provided
the conduct is under the immediate direction and supervision of the proper school authorities;

(3) A governmental agency acting within the scope of its functions.
Penalty, see § 70.99

§ 71.122  APPLICATION FOR PERMIT.

(A) Procedure.  A person seeking issuance of a parade permit shall file an application with the Chief
of Police or other authorized city official on forms provided by such officer.

(B) Filing period.  The application for a parade permit shall be filed not less than five days or not
more than 60 days before the date on which it is proposed to conduct the parade.

(C) Contents.  The application for a parade permit shall set forth the following information:
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(1) The name, address, and telephone number of the person seeking to conduct the parade;

(2) If the parade is proposed to be conducted for, on behalf of, or by an organization, the name,
address, and telephone number of the headquarters of the organization and of the authorized and
responsible heads of the organization;

(3) The name, address, and telephone number of the person who will be the parade chairperson
and who will be responsible for its conduct;

(4) The date when the parade is to be conducted;

(5) The route to be traveled, the starting point, and the termination point;

(6) The approximate number of persons, animals, and vehicles which will constitute the parade,
the type of animals, if any, and the description of the vehicles;

(7) The hours when the parade will start and terminate;

(8) A statement as to whether the parade will occupy all or only a portion of the width of the
streets, sidewalk, park, or other public place proposed to be traversed;

(9) The location by street of any assembly area for the parade;

(10) The time at which units of the parade will begin to assemble at any such assembly area or
areas;

(11) The interval of space to be maintained between units of the parade;

(12) If the parade is designed to be held by, and on behalf of or for, any person other than the
applicant, the applicant for the permit shall file a communication in writing from the person authorizing
the applicant to apply for the permit on his behalf;

(13) Any additional information reasonably necessary to a fair determination as to whether a
permit should be issued.

(D) Fee.  There shall be paid at the time of filing an application for a parade permit a fee in an
amount as established by the City Council from time to time.

§ 71.123  STANDARDS FOR ISSUANCE OF PERMIT.

The Chief of Police or other authorized city official shall issue a permit when, from a consideration
of the application and from other information obtained, he finds that:
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(A) The conduct of the parade will not substantially interrupt the safe and orderly movement of
other traffic contiguous to its route;

(B) The conduct of the parade will not require the diversion of so great a number of police officers
of the city to properly police the line of movement and the areas contiguous thereto as to prevent normal
police protection to the city;

(C) The conduct of the parade will not require the diversion of so great a number of ambulances as
to prevent normal ambulance service to portions of the city other than that to be occupied by the
proposed line of march and areas contiguous thereto;

(D) The concentration of persons, animals, and vehicles at assembly points of the parade will not
unduly interfere with proper fire and police protection of, or ambulance service to, areas contiguous to
the assembly areas;

(E) The conduct of the parade will not interfere with the movement of firefighting equipment en
route to a fire;

(F) The parade is scheduled to move from its point of origin to its point of termination expeditiously
and without unreasonable delays en route;

(G) The parade is not to be held for the sole purpose of advertising any product, goods, or event,
and is not designated to be held purely for private profit;

(H) The parade, if it takes the form of cruising, has the approval in writing of the owner or an
authorized agent of the owner for the use of the parking lot which is the site of the parade.  
Penalty, see § 70.99

§ 71.124  NOTICE OF REJECTION OF PERMIT APPLICATION.

The Chief of Police or other authorized city official shall act on the application for a parade permit
within three days, Saturdays, Sundays, and holidays excepted, after filing thereof.  If he disapproves the
application, he shall mail to the applicant within the three days, Saturdays, Sundays, and holidays
excepted, after the date on which the application was filed, a notice of his action stating the reasons for
his denial of the permit.

§ 71.125  APPEAL PROCEDURE WHEN PERMIT DENIED.

Any person aggrieved shall have the right to appeal the denial of a parade permit to the City
Council.  The appeal shall be taken within 30 days after notice of denial.  The City Council shall act on
the appeal within 30 days after its receipt.
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§ 71.126  ALTERNATIVE PERMIT.

The Chief of Police or other authorized city official, in denying an application for a parade permit,
shall be empowered to authorize the conduct of the parade on a date, at a time, or over a route different
than that named by the applicant.  An applicant desiring to accept an alternate permit shall file a written
notice of his acceptance.  An alternate parade permit shall conform to the requirements of, and shall have
the effect of, a parade permit under this subchapter.

§ 71.127  NOTICE TO CITY AND OTHER OFFICIALS WHEN PERMIT ISSUED.

Immediately on the issuance of a parade permit, a copy thereof shall be sent to the Mayor and the
Fire Chief.

§ 71.128  CONTENTS OF PERMIT.

Each parade permit shall state the following information:

(A) Starting time;

(B) Minimum speed;

(C) Maximum speed;

(D) Maximum interval of space to be maintained between the units of the parade;

(E) The portions of the street, sidewalk, park, or other public place to be traversed that may be
occupied by the parade;

(F) The maximum length of the parade in miles or fractions thereof;

(G) Such other information as is reasonably necessary to the enforcement of this subchapter.

§ 71.129  DUTIES OF PERMITTEE.

A permittee hereunder shall comply with all permit directions and conditions and with all applicable
laws and ordinances.  The parade chairperson or other person heading or leading the activity shall carry
the parade permit on his person during the conduct of the parade.
Penalty, see § 70.99
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§ 71.130  PUBLIC CONDUCT DURING PARADES.

(A) Interference.  No person shall unreasonably hamper, obstruct, impede, or interfere with any
parade or parade assembly or with any person, vehicle, or animal participating or used in a parade.

(B) Driving through parades.  No driver of a vehicle except a police car or other emergency vehicle
shall drive between the vehicles or persons comprising a parade when such vehicles or persons are in
motion and are conspicuously designated as a parade.

(C) Parking on parade route.  The Chief of Police or other authorized city official shall have the
authority, when reasonably necessary, to prohibit or restrict the parking of vehicles along a street or
other public thoroughfare or part thereof constituting a part of the route of a parade.  Signs shall be
posted to such effect, and it shall be unlawful for any person to park or leave unattended any vehicle in
violation thereof.  No person shall be liable for parking on a street or other public thoroughfare unless
signs have been posted in accordance with this section.
Penalty, see § 70.99

§ 71.131  REVOCATION OF PERMIT.

The city shall have the authority to revoke a parade permit issued hereunder on application of the
standards for issuance as herein set forth.
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CHAPTER 72:  PARKING REGULATIONS

Section

Method of Parking

72.01 General parking regulations
72.02 Unattended motor vehicles

Restrictions on Stopping, Standing, and Parking

72.10 Stopping, standing, or parking prohibited in specified places
72.11 Stopping, standing, or parking outside business or residence district
72.12 Unauthorized use of parking spaces reserved for persons with disabilities

Snow Emergencies

72.25 Announcement of snow emergency
72.26 Termination of emergency
72.27 Snow emergency routes

Violations

72.40 Officers authorized to remove vehicles
72.41 Duty of lessor of vehicle on notice of violation of this chapter

72.99 Penalty

METHOD OF PARKING

§ 72.01  GENERAL PARKING REGULATIONS.

(A) Except as otherwise provided in this section, every vehicle stopped or parked upon a two-way
roadway shall be so stopped or parked with the right-hand wheels parallel to and within 12 inches of the
right-hand curb or as close as practicable to the right edge of the right-hand shoulder.

(B) Every vehicle stopped or parked upon a one-way roadway shall be so stopped or parked parallel
to the curb or edge of the roadway, in the direction of authorized traffic movement, with its right-hand
wheels within 12 inches of the right-hand curb or as close as practicable to the right edge of the right-
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hand shoulder, or with its left-hand wheels within 12 inches of the left-hand curb or as close as
practicable to the left edge of the left-hand shoulder.

(C) No angle parking shall be permitted except as set forth by ordinance.

(D) No person shall park in violation of signs placed by and under the jurisdiction of the state
Department of Transportation which prohibit, limit, or restrict the stopping, standing, or parking of
vehicles on any highway.
(ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 11-1304)  Penalty, see § 72.99

§ 72.02  UNATTENDED MOTOR VEHICLES.

Except for a law enforcement officer or an operator of an authorized emergency vehicle performing
his or her official duties, no person driving or in charge of a motor vehicle shall permit it to stand
unattended without stopping the engine, locking the ignition, removing the key from the ignition,
effectively setting the brake thereon and, when standing upon any perceptible grade, turning the front
wheels to the curb or side of the highway. An unattended motor vehicle shall not include an unattended
locked motor vehicle with the engine running after being started by a remote starter system.
(ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 11-1401)  Penalty, see § 72.99

RESTRICTIONS ON STOPPING, STANDING, AND PARKING

§ 72.10  STOPPING, STANDING, OR PARKING PROHIBITED IN SPECIFIED PLACES.

(A) Except when necessary to avoid conflict with other traffic, or in compliance with law or the
directions of a police officer, or an official traffic-control device, no person shall:

(1) Stop, stand, or park a vehicle:

(a) On the roadway side of any vehicle stopped or parked at the edge or curb of a street;

(b) On a sidewalk;

(c) Within an intersection;

(d) On a crosswalk;

(e) Between a safety zone and the adjacent curb or within 30 feet of points on the curb
immediately opposite the ends of a safety zone, unless a different length is indicated by signs or
markings;
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(f) Alongside or opposite any street excavation or obstruction when stopping, standing,
or parking would obstruct traffic;

(g) Upon any bridge or other elevated structure, upon a highway, or within a highway
tunnel;

(h) On any railroad tracks;

(i) At any place where official signs prohibit stopping;

(j) On any controlled-access highway;

(k) In the area between roadways of a divided highway, including crossovers;

(l) In a public parking area if the vehicle does not display a current annual registration
sticker or digital registration sticker or current temporary permit pending registration.

(2) Stand or park a vehicle, whether occupied or not, except momentarily to pick up or
discharge passengers:

(a) In front of a public or private driveway;

(b) Within 15 feet of a fire hydrant;

(c) Within 20 feet of a crosswalk at an intersection;

(d) Within 30 feet upon the approach to any flashing signal, stop sign, yield sign, or
traffic-control signal located at the side of a roadway;

(e) Within 20 feet of the driveway entrance to any fire station  and on the side of a street
opposite the entrance to any fire station within 75 feet of the entrance (when properly sign-posted);

(f) At any place where official signs prohibit standing.

(3) Park a vehicle, whether occupied or not, except temporarily for the purpose of and while
actually engaged in loading or unloading property or passengers:

(a) Within 50 feet of the nearest rail of a railroad crossing;

(b) At any place where official signs prohibit parking.

(B) No person shall move a vehicle not lawfully under his control into any prohibited area or away
from a curb a distance as is unlawful.
(ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 11-1303)  Penalty, see divisions (A) and (C) of § 72.99
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§ 72.11  STOPPING, STANDING, OR PARKING OUTSIDE BUSINESS OR RESIDENCE 
DISTRICT.

(A) Outside a business or residence district, no person shall stop, park, or leave standing any
vehicle, whether attended or unattended, upon the roadway when it is practicable to stop, park, or so
leave the vehicle off the roadway, but in every event an unobstructed width of the highway opposite a
standing vehicle shall be left for the free passage of other vehicles, and a clear view of the stopped
vehicle shall be available from a distance of 200 feet in each direction upon the highway.

(B) The city, with respect to highways under its jurisdiction or for the maintenance of which it is
responsible, may place signs prohibiting or restricting the stopping, standing, or parking of vehicles on
any highway where in its opinion stopping, standing, or parking is dangerous to those using the highway,
or where stopping, standing, or parking vehicles would unduly interfere with the free movement of
traffic thereon.  Any regulations adopted by the city regarding the stopping, standing, or parking of
vehicles upon any specific street, streets, or highways become effective at the time of the erection of
appropriate signs indicating the regulations.

(C) This section, and § 72.10 and ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 11-1304 shall not apply to the driver of
any vehicle which is disabled in such manner and to such extent that it is impossible to avoid stopping
and temporarily leaving the vehicle in such position.

(D) Any second division vehicle used exclusively for the collection of garbage, refuse, or recyclable
material may stop or stand on the road in a business, rural, or residential district for the sole purpose
of collecting garbage, refuse, or recyclable material. The vehicle, in addition to having its hazard lights
lighted at all times that it is engaged in stopping or standing, shall also use its amber oscillating, rotating,
or flashing light or lights as authorized by ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 12-215(b).
(ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 11-1301)  Penalty, see § 72.99

§ 72.12  UNAUTHORIZED USE OF PARKING SPACES RESERVED FOR PERSONS WITH
DISABILITIES.

(A) (1) It shall be prohibited to park any motor vehicle which is not properly displaying registration
plates or decals issued to a person with disabilities, as defined by § 70.01, pursuant to ILCS Ch. 625,
Act 5, §§ 3-616, 11-1301.1, or 11-1301.2, or to a veteran with a disability pursuant to ILCS Ch. 625,
Act 5, § 3-609, as evidence that the vehicle is operated by or for a person with disabilities or a veteran
with a disability, in any parking place, including any private or public off-street parking facility,
specifically reserved, by the posting of an official sign as designated under ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5,
§ 11-301, for motor vehicles displaying such registration plates.  It shall be prohibited to park any motor
vehicle in a designated access aisle adjacent to any parking place specifically reserved for persons with
disabilities, by the posting of an official sign as designated under ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 11-301, for 
motor vehicles displaying such registration plates.  When using the parking privileges for persons with
disabilities, the parking decal or device must be displayed properly in the vehicle where it is clearly 
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visible to law enforcement personnel, either hanging from the rearview mirror or placed on the
dashboard of the vehicle in clear view.  Disability license plates and parking decals and devices are not
transferable from person to person.  Proper usage of the disability license plate or parking decal or
device requires the authorized holder to be present and enter or exit the vehicle at the time the parking
privileges are being used.  It is a violation of this section to park in a space reserved for a person with
disabilities if the authorized holder of the disability license plate or parking decal or device does not enter
or exit the vehicle at the time the parking privileges are being used.  Any motor vehicle properly
displaying a disability license plate or a decal or device containing the international symbol of access
issued to persons with disabilities by any local authority, state, district, territory, or foreign country shall
be recognized as a valid license plate or device and receive the same parking privileges as residents of
the village.

(2) An individual with a vehicle displaying disability license plates or a parking decal or device
issued to a qualified person with a disability under ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, §§ 3-616, 11-1301.1 or
11-1301.2 or to a veteran with a disability under ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 3-609 is in violation of this
section if; (a) the person using the disability license plate or parking decal or device is not the authorized
holder of the disability license plate or parking decal or device or is not transporting the authorized
holder of the disability license plate or parking decal or device to or from the parking location and; (b)
the person uses the disability license plate or parking decal or device to exercise any privileges granted
through the disability license plate or parking decals or devices under this title.

(3) A driver of a vehicle displaying disability license plates or a parking decal or device issued
to a qualified person with a disability under ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, §§ 3-616, 11-1301.1 or 11-1301-2
or to a veteran with a disability under ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 3-609 is in violation of this section if:

(a) The person to whom the disability  licensed plate or parking decal or device was issued
is deceased; and

(b) The driver uses the disability license plate or parking decal or device to exercise any
privileges granted through a disability license plate or parking decal or device under this title. 

(B) Any person or local authority owning or operating any public or private off-street parking
facility may, after notifying the Police Department, remove or cause to be removed to the nearest garage
or other place of safety any vehicle parked within a stall or space reserved for use by a person with
disabilities which does not display person with disabilities  registration plates or a special decal or device
as required under this section.

(C) Any person found guilty of violating the provisions of division (A) shall be fined as set forth
in § 72.99 in addition to any costs or charges connected with the removal or storage of any motor vehicle
authorized under this section.  The village shall display signs indicating the fine imposed, and if the
amount of the fine is subsequently changed, the village shall change the sign to indicate the current
amount of the fine. It shall not be a defense to a charge under this section that either the sign posted 
pursuant to this section or the intended accessible parking place does not comply with the technical
requirements of ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 11-301, Department regulations, or local ordinances if a 
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reasonable person would be made aware by the sign or notice on or near the parking place that the place
is reserved for a person with disabilities.

(D) As used in this section, AUTHORIZED HOLDER means an individual issued a disability
license plate under ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 3-616, an individual issued a parking decal or device under
ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 11-1301.2, or an individual issued a license plate for veterans with disabilities
under ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 3-609.
(ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 11-1301.3(a), (a-1), (a-2), (b), (c), (e))  Penalty, see § 72.99

SNOW EMERGENCIES

§ 72.25  ANNOUNCEMENT OF SNOW EMERGENCY.

Whenever the Mayor finds that falling snow, sleet, or freezing rain will create a condition which
makes it necessary that the parking of motor vehicles on snow emergency routes be prohibited, or
whenever he finds on the basis of a firm forecast of snow, sleet, or freezing rain that the weather 
conditions so forecasted may create a condition making it necessary that such parking be prohibited, he
is authorized to announce such prohibition, to become effective at a time specified by him.  After the
effective time of such prohibition no person shall park any vehicle or permit any vehicle to remain
parked on a snow emergency route.  However, if a fall of snow, sleet, or freezing rain occurs after 11:00
p.m. and prior to 6:00 a.m., and the Mayor has not announced prior to 11:00 p.m. that parking on snow
emergency routes is to be prohibited after a specified time, a vehicle parked on a snow emergency route
may remain so parked until 7:00 a.m. following such fall.  The prohibition of parking announced by the
Mayor under the authority of this section shall remain in effect until he announces the termination of the
snow emergency, in part or in whole, after which the prohibition of parking authorized by this section
shall no longer be in effect.
Penalty, see § 72.99

§ 72.26  TERMINATION OF EMERGENCY.

Whenever the Mayor shall find that some or all of the conditions which gave rise to the snow
emergency prohibition no longer exist, he is authorized to declare the termination of the emergency, in
part or in whole, effective immediately on announcement.  If such announcement is made other than
between 6:00 a.m. and 11:00 p.m., it shall be repeated between those hours.

§ 72.27  SNOW EMERGENCY ROUTES.

The term SNOW EMERGENCY ROUTE shall mean any route designated by the Mayor.  On such
street or highway designated as a snow emergency route, special signs shall be posted to this effect.
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VIOLATIONS

§ 72.40  OFFICERS AUTHORIZED TO REMOVE VEHICLES.

(A) Whenever any police officer finds a vehicle in violation of any of the provisions of § 72.11 or
any other applicable section of this traffic code or ordinance of the city, the officer is authorized to move
the vehicle, or require the driver or other person in charge of the vehicle to move the same, to a position
off the roadway.

(B) Any police officer is authorized to remove or cause to be removed to a place of safety any
unattended vehicle illegally left standing upon any highway, bridge, causeway, or in a tunnel, or in a
position or under circumstances as to obstruct the normal movement of traffic. 

(C) Any police officer is authorized to remove or cause to be removed to the nearest garage or other
place of safety any vehicle found upon a highway when:

(1) Report has been made that the vehicle has been stolen or taken without the consent of its
owner; or

(2) The person or persons in charge of the vehicle are unable to provide for its custody or
removal; or

(3) The person driving or in control of the vehicle is arrested for an alleged offense for which
the officer is required by law to take the person arrested before a proper magistrate without unnecessary
delay; or

(4) The registration of the vehicle has been suspended, cancelled, or revoked.
(ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 11-1302)

§ 72.41  DUTY OF LESSOR OF VEHICLE ON NOTICE OF VIOLATION OF THIS
CHAPTER.

Every person in whose name a vehicle is registered pursuant to law and who leases such vehicle to
others, after receiving written notice of a violation of this chapter involving such vehicle, shall upon
request provide such police officers as have authority of the offense, and the court having jurisdiction
thereof, with a written statement of the name and address of the lessee at the time of such offense and
the identifying number upon the registration plates or digital registration plates and registration sticker
or stickers or digital registration sticker or stickers of such vehicle.
(ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 11-1305)
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§ 72.99  PENALTY.

(A) Whoever violates any provision of this chapter for which no specific penalty is otherwise
provided shall be fined as set forth in § 70.99.

(B) (1) Whoever violates § 72.12(A)(1) shall be fined $250 in addition to any costs or charges
connected with the removal or storage of the motor vehicle.  

(2) (a) Any person found guilty of violating the provisions of § 72.12(A)(2) a first time shall
be fined $600.  Any person found guilty of violating § 72.12(A)(2) a second or subsequent time shall
be fined $1,000. Any person who violates § 72.12(A)(3) is guilty of a Class A misdemeanor and shall
be fined $2,500.  The circuit clerk shall distribute 50% of the fine imposed on any person who is found
guilty of or pleads guilty to violating this § 72.12, including any person placed on court supervision for
violating § 72.12, to the law enforcement agency that issued the citation or made the arrest.  If more than
one law enforcement agency is responsible for issuing the citation or making the arrest, the 50% of the
fine imposed shall be shared equally.  If an officer of the Secretary of State Department of Police
arrested a person for a violation of § 72.12, 50% of the fine imposed shall be deposited into the
Secretary of State Police Services Fund.

(b) Any person who commits a violation of § 72.12(A)(2) may have his or her driving
privileges suspended or revoked by the Secretary of the State for a period of time determined by the
Secretary of the State. Any person who commits a violation of § 72.12(A)(3) shall have his or her
driving privileges revoked by the Secretary of State. The Secretary of the State may also suspend or
revoke the disability license plates or parking decal or device for a period of time determined by the
Secretary of the State.
(ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, §§ 11-1301.3(c), (c-1), and (f))
 

(C) A violation of any part of § 72.10(A)(1)(h) shall result in a mandatory fine of $500 or 50 hours
of community service.  (ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 11-1303)
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CHAPTER 73:  MOTORCYCLES AND BICYCLES

Section

Bicycles

73.01 Traffic laws apply to persons riding bicycles
73.02 Riding on bicycles
73.03 Clinging to vehicles
73.04 Riding on roadways and bicycle paths
73.05 Carrying articles
73.06 Lamps and other equipment on bicycles
73.07 Lamps on mopeds
73.08 Riding on mopeds
73.09 Registering bicycles

Motorcycles

73.20 Riding on motorcycles
73.21 Special equipment for persons riding motorcycles, motor driven cycles or mopeds
73.22 Required equipment on motorcycles
73.23 Operating motorcycle, motor driven cycle, or moped on one wheel

Golf Carts

73.30 Definitions
73.31 Requirements
73.32 Permits

BICYCLES

§ 73.01  TRAFFIC LAWS APPLY TO PERSONS RIDING BICYCLES.

Every person riding a bicycle upon a highway shall be granted all of the rights, including, but not
limited to, rights under ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, §§ 11-901 et seq., and shall be subject to all of the duties
applicable to the driver of a vehicle by this traffic code, except as to special regulations in this traffic
code, and those provisions of this traffic code which by their nature can have no application.
(ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 11-1502)  Penalty, see § 70.99
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§ 73.02  RIDING ON BICYCLES.

(A) A person propelling a bicycle shall not ride other than upon or astride a permanent and regular
seat attached thereto.

(B) No bicycle shall be used to carry more persons at one time than the number for which it is
designed and equipped, except that an adult rider may carry a child securely attached to his person in
a back pack or sling.
(ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 11-1503)  Penalty, see § 70.99

§ 73.03  CLINGING TO VEHICLES.

No person riding upon any bicycle, coaster, roller skates, sled, or toy vehicle shall attach the same
or himself to any vehicle upon a roadway.
(ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 11-1504)  Penalty, see § 70.99

§ 73.04  RIDING ON ROADWAYS AND BICYCLE PATHS.

(A) Any person operating a bicycle or motorized pedalcycle upon a roadway at less than the normal
speed of traffic at the time and place and under the conditions then existing shall ride as close as
practicable to the right-hand curb or edge of the roadway except under the following situations:

(1) When overtaking and passing another bicycle, motorized pedalcycle, or vehicle proceeding
in the same direction; or

(2) When preparing for a left turn at an intersection or into a private road or driveway; or

(3) When reasonably necessary to avoid conditions including, but not limited to, fixed or
moving objects, parked or moving vehicles, bicycles, motorized pedalcycles, pedestrians, animals,
surface hazards, or substandard width lanes that make it unsafe to continue along the right-hand curb or
edge.  For purposes of this division (A)(3), a SUBSTANDARD WIDTH LANE means a lane that is too
narrow for a bicycle or motorized pedalcycle and a vehicle to travel safely side by side within the lane;
or

(4) When approaching a place where a right turn is authorized.

(B) Any person operating a bicycle or motorized pedalcycle upon a one-way highway with two or
more marked traffic lanes may ride as near the left-hand curb or edge of the roadway as practicable.
(ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 11-1505) 

(C) Persons riding bicycles or motorized pedalcycles upon a roadway shall not ride more than two
abreast, except on paths or parts of roadways set aside for their exclusive use.  Persons riding two
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abreast shall not impede the normal and reasonable movement of traffic and, on a laned roadway, shall
ride within a single lane subject to the provisions of divisions (A) and (B) above. (ILCS Ch. 625, Act
5, § 11-1505.1)  
Penalty, see § 70.99

§ 73.05  CARRYING ARTICLES.

No person operating a bicycle shall carry any package, bundle, or article which prevents the use of
both hands in the control and operation of the bicycle.  A person operating a bicycle shall keep at least
one hand on the handlebars at all times.
(ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 11-1506)  Penalty, see § 70.99

§ 73.06  LAMPS AND OTHER EQUIPMENT ON BICYCLES.

(A) Every bicycle when in use at nighttime shall be equipped with a lamp on the front which shall
emit a white light visible from a distance of at least 500 feet to the front, and with a red reflector on the
rear of a type approved by the state Department of Transportation which shall be visible from all
distances from 100 feet to 600 feet to the rear when directly in front of lawful lower beams of headlamps
on a motor vehicle, except that a lamp emitting a steady or flashing red light visible from a distance of
500 feet to the rear may be used in addition to or instead of the red reflector.

(B) A bicycle shall not be equipped with nor shall any person use upon a bicycle any siren.  This
division (B) does not apply to a bicycle that is a police vehicle or Fire Department vehicle.

(C) Every bicycle shall be equipped with a brake which will adequately control movement of and
stop and hold the bicycle.

(D) No person shall sell a new bicycle or pedal for use on a bicycle that is not equipped with a
reflex reflector conforming to specifications prescribed by the state Department of Transportation, on
each pedal, visible from the front and rear of the bicycle during darkness from a distance of 200 feet.

(E) No person shall sell or offer for sale a new bicycle that is not equipped with side reflectors. 
The reflectors shall be visible from each side of the bicycle from a distance of 500 feet, and shall be
essentially colorless or red to the rear of the center of the bicycle and essentially colorless or amber to
the front of the center of the bicycle.  The requirements of this division may be met by reflective
materials which shall be at least 3/16 inch wide on each side of each tire or rim to indicate as clearly as
possible the continuous circular shape and size of the tires or rims of the bicycle, and which reflective
materials may be of the same color on both the front and rear tire or rim.  The reflectors shall conform
to specifications prescribed by the state Department of Transportation. 
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(F) No person shall sell or offer for sale a new bicycle that is not equipped with an essentially
colorless front-facing reflector.
(ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 11-1507)  Penalty, see § 70.99

§ 73.07  LAMPS ON MOPEDS.

Every moped, when in use at nighttime, shall be equipped with a lamp on the front which shall emit
a white light visible from a distance of at least 500 feet to the front, and with a red reflector on the rear
of a type approved by the Department of Transportation which shall be visible from all distances from
100 feet to 600 feet to the rear when in front of lawful, low-powered beams of head lamps on a motor
vehicle. A lamp emitting a red light visible from a distance of 500 feet to the rear may be used in
addition to the red reflector.
(ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 11-1507.1)  Penalty, see § 70.99

§ 73.08  RIDING ON MOPEDS.

(A) The operator of a moped shall ride only astride the permanent and regular seat attached thereto,
and shall not permit two persons to ride thereon at the same time, unless the moped is designed to carry
two persons; any moped designed for two persons must be equipped with a passenger seat and footrests
for use of a passenger.

(B) The provisions of §§ 73.01 through 73.07 shall be applicable to the operation of mopeds, except
for those provisions which by their nature can have no application to mopeds.
(ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 11-1403.1)  Penalty, see § 70.99

§ 73.09  REGISTERING BICYCLES.

(A) Any person who owns a bicycle or bicycles within the corporate limits of the City of Grayville
shall register the bicycle(s) with the Grayville Police Department; said registration shall not be required
for any person, business or corporation which has bicycle(s) on its premises for repair or sale.

(B) The registration will be done at the Grayville Police Department, 102 S. Main Street, Grayville,
IL 62844, between the hours of 4:00 p.m. and 8:00 p.m., Tuesday through Saturday.

(C) The registration fee is one dollar, and shall be due upon registration.

(D) Any person who is a resident of the City of Grayville who is riding, possessing, transporting,
or carrying a bicycle shall have a registration sticker/tag, that has been previously issued by the
Grayville Police Department affixed to the bicycle, and visible at all times to a police officer or their
agent.
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(E) When requested by a police officer, or their agent, any person in possession of a bicycle shall
provide proof of registration.

(F) Any bicycle with a defaced, missing, or altered registration shall be subject to seizure by the
Grayville Police Department.

(G) The owner of any bicycle with a defaced, missing, or altered registration, shall immediately
re-register the bicycle with the Grayville Police Department.

(H) After the initial registration, any person who resides within the City of Grayville and assumes
ownership of a registered bicycle by purchase, trade or transfer of ownership, shall within ten days,
re-register the bicycle with the Grayville Police Department.

(I) All rules and regulations that are applicable in the Illinois Vehicle Code (ILCS Ch. 625, Act
5, §§ 11-1501 through 11-1515) shall be enforced as part of this section.

(J) Any person violating any of the provisions of this section for the first time shall, upon
conviction thereof, be fined not less than ten dollars nor more than $50 for each unregistered bicycle.
Thereafter, he or she shall be subject to the standard City of Grayville schedule of fines.

(K) Any person who is convicted of a violation of any provision of this section for the third time
shall be guilty of a Class C Misdemeanor.
(Ord. 882, passed 11-25-19)

MOTORCYCLES

§ 73.20  RIDING ON MOTORCYCLES.

(A) A person operating a motorcycle shall ride only upon the permanent and regular seat attached
thereto, and the operator shall not carry any other person nor shall any other person ride on a motorcycle
unless the motorcycle is designed to carry more than one person, in which event a passenger may ride
upon the permanent and regular seat if designed for two persons, or upon another seat firmly attached
to the motorcycle at the rear or side of the operator.

(B) A person shall ride upon a motorcycle only while sitting astride the seat, facing forward, with
one leg on each side of the motorcycle.

(C) No person shall operate any motorcycle with handlebar grips higher than the height of the head
of the operator when the operator is seated in the normal driving position astride that portion of the seat
or saddle occupied by the operator.
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(D) The operator or any motorcycle shall keep at least one hand on a handlebar grip at all times the
motorcycle is in motion.
(ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 11-1403)  Penalty, see § 70.99

§ 73.21  SPECIAL EQUIPMENT FOR PERSONS RIDING MOTORCYCLES, MOTOR DRIVEN
CYCLES OR MOPEDS.

(A) The operator of a motorcycle, motor driven cycle or moped and every passenger thereon shall
be protected by glasses, goggles or a transparent shield.

(B) For the purposes of this section, glasses, goggles, and transparent shields are defined as follows:

(1) GLASSES.  Ordinary eye pieces such as spectacles or sunglasses worn before the eye,
made of shatter-resistant material.  Shatter-resistant material, as used in this section, means material so
manufactured, fabricated, or created that it substantially prevents shattering or flying when struck or
broken.

(2) GOGGLES.  A device worn before the eyes, the predominant function of which is
protecting the eyes without obstructing peripheral vision. Goggles shall provide protection from the front
and sides, and may or may not form a complete seal with the face.

(3) TRANSPARENT SHIELD.  A windshield attached to the front of a motorcycle that extends
above the eyes when an operator is seated in the normal, upright riding position, made of
shatter-resistant material, or a shatter-resistant protective face shield that covers the wearer's eyes and
face at least to a point approximately to the tip of the nose.

(C) Contact lenses are not acceptable eye protection devices.
(ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 11-1404)  Penalty, see § 70.99

§ 73.22  REQUIRED EQUIPMENT ON MOTORCYCLES.

Any motorcycle carrying a passenger, other than in a sidecar or enclosed cab, shall be equipped with
footrests for the passenger.
(ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 11-1405)  Penalty, see § 70.99
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§ 73.23  OPERATING MOTORCYCLE, MOTOR DRIVEN CYCLE, OR MOPED ON ONE
WHEEL.

(A) No person shall operate a motorcycle, motor driven cycle, or moped on one wheel.

(B) A person commits aggravated operating a motorcycle, motor driven cycle, or moped on one
wheel when he or she violates division (A) above while committing a violation of § 71.001(A). A
violation of this division (B) is a petty offense with a minimum fine of $100, except a second conviction
of a violation of this division (B) is a Class B misdemeanor and a third or subsequent conviction of a
violation of this division (B)is a Class A misdemeanor.
(ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 11-1403.2)  Penalty, see § 70.99

GOLF CARTS

§ 73.30  DEFINITIONS.

As used in this subchapter:

CITY STREETS.  Any of the streets within the boundaries of the city, except for state and county
roads.

COUNTY ROADS.  Includes County Road 2600N, which is known as West North Street.

GOLF CART.  Includes those vehicles defined in ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 1-123.9, being a vehicle
specifically designed and intended for the purposes of transporting one or more persons and their golf
clubs or maintenance equipment while engaged in the playing of golf, supervising the play of golf, or
maintaining the condition of the grounds on a public or private golf course, and for the sole and limited
purpose of this subchapter, shall also include those vehicles that would otherwise be defined as
“recreational off-highway vehicle” in ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 1-168.8, being any motorized off-highway
device designed to travel primarily off-highway, 64 inches or less in width, having a manufacturer’s dry
weight of 2,000 pounds or less, traveling on four or more non-highway tires, designed with a non-
straddle seat and a steering wheel for steering control, except equipment such as lawnmowers. The
definition of a GOLF CART for purposes of this subchapter specifically excludes all-terrain vehicles
(ATVs), off-highway motorcycles, and any other vehicle that is not otherwise defined herein as a GOLF
CART.

STATE ROADS.  Includes Illinois Route 1 (N. Court Street) and Illinois Route 130 (Hagedorn
Road).
(Ord. 689, passed 8-13-07; Am. Ord. 766, passed 10-8-12)
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§ 73.31  REQUIREMENTS.

All persons wishing to operate a golf cart on the streets of the City of Grayville must ensure
compliance with the following requirements:

(A) Proof of liability insurance;

(B) Must display city decal front and rear;

(C) Must be inspected by city police or designated representative;

(D) Must have a valid Illinois driver's license;

(E) Must be equipped with windshield, seat belts for driver and each passenger, horn, brakes, a
steering wheel apparatus, tires, a rearview mirror, an approved slow moving vehicle emblem on the rear
of the golfcart, a headlight that emits a white light visible from a distance of 500 feet to the front, a tail
lamp that emits a red light visible from at least 100 feet from the rear, brake lights, and turn signals.
When operated on a roadway, a golf cart shall have its headlight and tail lamps lighted (see 625 ILCS
Ch. 625, Act 5 § 11-1428);

(F) Must obey all traffic laws of the State of Illinois and City of Grayville;

(G) Passengers under age eight must be secured by an appropriate child restraint system as covered
by the Child Passenger Protection Act;

(H) Operator must be 16 years of age or older;

(I) Must not exceed 20 miles per hour;

(J) May only operate on city streets with the exception of authorized crossing of state or county
roads;

(K) Those golf carts that would constitute vehicles as defined in ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5 § 1-123.9,
used for golfing purposes, shall not be operated in inclement weather, nor when visibility is impaired
by weather, smoke, fog, or other conditions. Those golf carts that would otherwise constitute
"recreational off-highway vehicles" as defined in ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 1-168.8, being motorized off-
highway devices, can be operated in such weather conditions.

(L) A person who drives or is in actual physical control of a golf cart on a roadway while under the
influence is subject to §§ 11-500 through 11-502 of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS Ch. 625, Act
5, §§ 11-500 through 11-502);

(M) Golf carts shall not be operated on sidewalks or in city parks other than paved areas;
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(N) Golf carts may not be operated on streets and highways and roads under the jurisdiction of the
Illinois Department of Transportation (Illinois Route 1 or Illinois Route 130) or the county highway
department, absent prior approval from the appropriate government authority;

(O) Golf carts may not be operated on state or county roads except to cross at designated streets
when authorized by the State of Illinois Department of Transportation, or such other controlling
department of government, as applicable. The city will ensure that signs are erected to designate
authorized crossing points, with crossings to be authorized for State Route No.1 (N. Court Street), at
North Street and Martin Street, Highway 130 North, at North 151 Street, and North State Road, at its
intersection with North 3rd Street and Carothers Street.
(Ord. 689, passed 8-13-07; Am. Ord. 892, passed 8-10-20; Am. Ord. 912, passed - -)

§ 73.32  PERMITS.

(A) No person shall operate a motorized golf cart without obtaining a permit from the City Clerk
as provided in this section.  Permits shall be granted for a period of one year and may be renewed
annually. The cost of a permit is $35.  Insurance coverage is to be verified in effect by the City Clerk
when issuing or renewing the permit.

(B) Every application for a permit shall be made on a form supplied by the city and shall contain
the following information:

(1) The name and address of the applicant;

(2) Name of liability insurance carrier;

(3)  The serial number, make, model and description of the golf cart;

(4) Signed waiver of liability by applicant releasing the city from any and all future claims
resulting from the operation of their golf cart on city streets; and

(5) Photostatic copy of applicable liability insurance coverage card specifically for the golf cart
to be operated on city streets.  When operated on a roadway, a golf cart shall have its headlight and tail
lamps lighted.
(Ord. 689, passed 8-13-07)
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CHAPTER 74:  PEDESTRIANS

Section

74.01 Pedestrian obedience to traffic control devices and traffic regulations
74.02 Pedestrian right-of-way at crosswalks
74.03 Crossing at other than crosswalks
74.04 Drivers to avoid colliding with pedestrians
74.05 Blind, hearing impaired, or physically handicapped pedestrian right-of-way
74.06 Pedestrians to use right half of crosswalks
74.07 Pedestrians soliciting rides or business
74.071 Person standing on a public highway
74.08 Pedestrians walking on highways
74.09 Right-of-way on sidewalks
74.10 Pedestrians yield to authorized emergency vehicles
74.11 Pedestrians under influence of alcohol or drugs
74.12 Bridge and railroad signals
74.13 Motorized wheelchairs

74.99 Penalty

§ 74.01  PEDESTRIAN OBEDIENCE TO TRAFFIC-CONTROL DEVICES AND TRAFFIC
REGULATIONS.

(A) A pedestrian shall obey the instructions of any official traffic-control device specifically
applicable to him, unless otherwise directed by a police officer.

(B) Pedestrians shall be subject to traffic and pedestrian-control signals provided in §§ 70.31 and
70.32 of this traffic code; but at all other places, pedestrians shall be accorded the privileges and shall
be subject to the restrictions stated in this chapter.
(ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 11-1001) 

§ 74.02  PEDESTRIAN RIGHT-OF-WAY AT CROSSWALKS.

(A) When traffic control signals are not in place or not in operation the driver of a vehicle shall stop
and yield the right-of-way to a pedestrian crossing the roadway within a crosswalk when the pedestrian
is upon the half of the roadway upon which the vehicle is traveling, or when the pedestrian is
approaching so closely from the opposite half of the roadway as to be in danger.
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(B) No pedestrian shall suddenly leave a curb or other place of safety and walk or run into the path
of a moving vehicle which is so close as to constitute an immediate hazard.

(C) Division (A) of this section shall not apply under the condition stated in § 74.03(B).

(D) Whenever any vehicle is stopped at a marked crosswalk or at any unmarked crosswalk at an
intersection to permit a pedestrian to cross the roadway, the driver of any other vehicle approaching from
the rear shall not overtake and pass such stopped vehicle.

(E) Whenever stop signs or flashing red signals are in place at an intersection or at a plainly marked
crosswalk between intersections, drivers shall yield right-of-way to pedestrians as set forth in § 71.063.
(ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 11-1002)  Penalty, see § 70.99

§ 74.03  CROSSING AT OTHER THAN CROSSWALKS.

(A) Every pedestrian crossing a roadway at any point other than within a marked crosswalk, or
within an unmarked crosswalk at an intersection, shall yield the right-of-way to all vehicles upon the
roadway.

(B) Any pedestrian crossing a roadway at a point where a pedestrian tunnel or overhead pedestrian
crossing has been provided shall yield the right-of-way to all vehicles upon the roadway.

(C) Between adjacent intersections at which traffic-control signals are in operation, pedestrians shall
not cross at any place except in a marked crosswalk.

(D) No pedestrian shall cross a roadway intersection diagonally unless authorized by official traffic-
control devices; and, when authorized to cross diagonally, pedestrians shall cross only in accordance
with the official traffic-control devices pertaining to the crossing movements.

(E) Pedestrians with disabilities may cross a roadway at any point other than within a marked
crosswalk or within an unmarked crosswalk where the intersection is physically inaccessible to them but
they shall yield the right-of-way to all vehicles upon the roadway.
(ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 11-1003)  Penalty, see § 70.99

§ 74.04  DRIVERS TO AVOID COLLIDING WITH PEDESTRIANS.

Notwithstanding other provisions of this chapter, every driver of a vehicle shall exercise due care
to avoid colliding with any pedestrian, or any person operating a bicycle or other device propelled by
human power and shall give warning by sounding the horn when necessary, and shall exercise proper
precaution upon observing any child or any obviously confused, incapacitated, or intoxicated person.
(ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 11-1003.1)  Penalty, see § 70.99
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§ 74.05  BLIND, HEARING IMPAIRED, OR PHYSICALLY HANDICAPPED PEDESTRIAN
RIGHT-OF-WAY.

The driver of a vehicle shall yield the right-of-way to any blind, hearing-impaired, or physically
handicapped pedestrian carrying a clearly visible white cane or accompanied by a support or guide dog.
(ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 11-1004)  Penalty, see § 70.99

§ 74.06  PEDESTRIANS TO USE RIGHT HALF OF CROSSWALKS.

Pedestrians shall move, whenever practicable, upon the right half of crosswalks. 
(ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 11-1005)  Penalty, see § 70.99

§ 74.07  PEDESTRIANS SOLICITING RIDES OR BUSINESS.

(A) No person shall stand in a roadway for the purpose of soliciting a ride from the driver of any
vehicle.

(B) No person shall stand on a highway for the purpose of soliciting employment or business from
the occupant of any vehicle.

(C) No person shall stand on a highway for the purpose of soliciting contributions from the occupant
of any vehicle, unless expressly permitted by this code.  Solicitation on highways within this city shall
be allowed only at intersections where all traffic is required to come to a full stop.  Any person engaged
in the act of solicitation shall be 16 years of age or more and shall be wearing a high visibility vest.  The
soliciting agency shall be:

(1) Registered with the Attorney General as a charitable organization as provided by “An Act
to regulate solicitation and collection of funds for charitable purposes, providing for violations thereof,
and making an appropriation therefor,” approved July 26, 1963, as amended.

(2) Engaged in a statewide fund raising activity.

(3) Liable for any injuries to any person or property during the solicitation which is casually
related to an act of ordinary negligence of the soliciting agent.

(D) No person shall stand on or in the proximity of a roadway for the purpose of soliciting the
watching or guarding of any vehicle while parked or about to be parked on a street or highway.
(ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 11-1006)  Penalty, see § 70.99
Cross-reference:

Person standing on public highway, see § 74.071
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§ 74.071  PERSON STANDING ON PUBLIC HIGHWAY.

(A) No person shall stand on a public highway, as defined in the Illinois Motor Vehicle Code,
within the corporate limits of the city, for the purposes of soliciting contributions from the occupant of
any vehicle, unless that person is a member of an organization that has satisfied the following conditions
before engaging in solicitation activities:

(1) Has registered with the Attorney General as a charitable organization as provided by "an
Act to regulate solicitation and collection of funds for charitable purposes, providing for violations
thereof, and making an appropriation therefore," approved July 26, 1963, as amended.

(2) Is engaged in a statewide fund raising activity.

(3) Has submitted an application, approved by the City Council, describing the fund raising
event, as well as the date, time, location of the solicitation, and names of all scheduled participants.

(4) Has agreed in writing that the organization accepts responsibility for any injuries to any
person or property during the solicitation which is casually related to an act of ordinary negligence of
the soliciting agent.

(B) An authorized solicitor shall be 16 years of age, or more, and shall wear a highly visible vest
or like article of clothing.
(Ord. 578, passed 6-8-98)

§ 74.08  PEDESTRIANS WALKING ON HIGHWAYS.

(A) Except as provided in division (E) below, where a sidewalk is provided and its use is
practicable, it shall be unlawful for any pedestrian to walk along and upon an adjacent roadway.

(B) Where a sidewalk is not available, any pedestrian walking along and upon a highway shall walk
only on a shoulder, as far as practicable from the edge of the roadway.

(C) Where neither a sidewalk nor a shoulder is available, any pedestrian walking along and upon
a highway shall walk as near as practicable to an outside edge of a roadway, and, if on a two-way
roadway, shall walk only on the left side of the roadway.

(D) Except as otherwise provided in this chapter, any pedestrian upon a roadway shall yield the
right-of-way to all vehicles upon the roadway.

(E) Upon highways where the maximum posted speed limit is 45 miles per hour or less, and during
the period from sunrise to sunset, a pedestrian who is 18 years of age or older and wearing in-line speed
skates may travel upon the roadway as near as practicable to an outside edge of the roadway. Pedestrians 
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wearing in-line speed skates upon a roadway may not impede or obstruct other vehicular traffic.
Pedestrians wearing in-line speed skates shall be subject to all other rights and duties under this chapter.
Nothing in this title shall be construed to prevent a pedestrian wearing in-line speed skates from using
a lane designated for bicycles.
(ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 11-1007)  Penalty, see § 70.99

§ 74.09  RIGHT-OF-WAY ON SIDEWALKS.

The driver of a vehicle shall yield the right-of-way to any pedestrians on a sidewalk.
(ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 11-1008)  Penalty, see § 70.99

§ 74.10  PEDESTRIANS YIELD TO AUTHORIZED EMERGENCY VEHICLES.

Upon the immediate approach of an authorized emergency vehicle making use of an audible signal
and visual signals meeting the requirements of ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 12-601, or of a police vehicle
properly and lawfully making use of an audible signal only, every pedestrian shall yield the right-of-way
to the authorized emergency vehicle.
(ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 11-1009)  Penalty, see § 70.99

§ 74.11  PEDESTRIANS UNDER INFLUENCE OF ALCOHOL OR DRUGS.

A pedestrian who is under the influence of alcohol or any drug to a degree which renders himself
a hazard shall not walk or be upon a highway, except on a sidewalk.
(ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 11-1010)  Penalty, see § 70.99

§ 74.12  BRIDGE AND RAILROAD SIGNALS.

(A) No pedestrian shall enter or remain upon any bridge or approach thereto beyond the bridge
signal, gate, or barrier after a bridge operation signal indication has been given.

(B) No pedestrian shall pass through, around, over, or under any crossing gate or barrier at a
railroad grade crossing or bridge while such gate or barrier is closed or is being opened or closed.

(C) No pedestrian shall enter, remain upon or traverse over a railroad grade crossing or pedestrian
walkway crossing a railroad track when an audible bell or clearly visible electric or mechanical signal
device is operational giving warning of the presence, approach, passage, or departure of a railroad train
or railroad track equipment. 
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(D) A violation of any part of this section is a petty offense for which a $250 fine shall be imposed
for a first violation, and a $500 fine shall be imposed for a second or subsequent violation.  The court
may impose 25 hours of community service in place of the $250 fine for a first violation.

(E) Local authorities shall impose fines as established in division (D) of this section for pedestrians
who fail to obey signals indicating the presence, approach, passage, or departure of a train or railroad
track equipment.
(ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 11-1011)  Penalty, see § 70.99

§ 74.13  MOTORIZED WHEELCHAIRS.

Every person operating a motorized wheelchair upon a sidewalk or roadway shall be granted all the
rights and shall be subject to all the duties applicable to a pedestrian.
(ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 11-1004.1)

§ 74.99  PENALTY.

(A) Whoever violates any provision of this chapter for which another penalty is not already
otherwise provided by ordinance or by appropriate statutory penalty as generally set forth in ILCS Ch.
625, Act 5, §§ 16-101 et seq. shall, upon conviction, be subject to a fine of not less than $50 nor more
than $750.

(B) Any person found in violation of § 74.071 shall be enjoined from further solicitation activities,
and shall be subject to a fine of not less than $25 nor more than $100 for each offense.  (Ord. 578,
passed 6-8-98)
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CHAPTER 75:  EQUIPMENT; LOADS

Section

Equipment

75.01 Scope and effect of equipment requirements

Loads

75.10 Scope and effect of size, weight, and load regulations
75.11 Projecting loads on passenger vehicles
75.12 Protruding members of vehicles
75.13 Spilling loads prohibited
75.14 Pushing of disabled vehicles

EQUIPMENT

§ 75.01  SCOPE AND EFFECT OF EQUIPMENT REQUIREMENTS.

(A) It is unlawful for any person to drive or move, or for the owner to cause or knowingly permit
to be driven or moved on any highway any vehicle or combination of vehicles which is in an unsafe
condition as to endanger any person or property, or which does not contain those parts or is not at all
times equipped with the lamps and other equipment in proper condition and adjustment as required in
ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, §§ 12-101 et seq., or which is equipped in any manner in violation of ILCS Ch.
625, Act 5, §§ 12-101 et seq., or for any person to do any act forbidden or fail to perform any act
required under ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, §§ 12-101 et seq.

(B) The provisions of ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, §§ 12-101 et seq., with respect to equipment on
vehicles shall not apply to implements of husbandry, road machinery, road rollers, or farm tractors, or
to farm-wagon type trailers having a fertilizer spreader attachment permanently mounted thereon, having
a gross weight of not to exceed 36,000 pounds and used only for the transportation of bulk fertilizer, or
to farm-wagon type tank trailers of not to exceed 2,000 gallons capacity, used during the liquid fertilizer
season as field-storage “nurse tanks,” supplying the fertilizer to a field applicator and highways only for
bringing the fertilizer to a field applicator from a local source of supply to the farm or field or from one
farm or field to another.
(ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 12-101)  Penalty, see § 70.99
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LOADS

§ 75.10  SCOPE AND EFFECT OF SIZE, WEIGHT, AND LOAD REGULATIONS.

(A) It is unlawful for any person to drive or move on, upon or across or for the owner to cause or
knowingly permit to be driven or moved on, upon or across any highway any vehicle or vehicles of a
size and weight exceeding the limitations stated in ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, §§ 15-100 et seq. or otherwise
in violation of ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, §§ 15-100 et seq., and the maximum size and weight of vehicles
herein specified shall be lawful throughout this state, and local authorities shall have no power or
authority to alter such limitations except as express authority may be granted in ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5,
§§ 15-100 et seq.

(B) The provisions of ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, §§ 15-100 et seq. governing size, weight and load do
not apply to equipment for snow and ice removal operations owned or operated by any governmental
body, or to implements of husbandry, as defined in ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, §§ 1-100 et seq., temporarily
operated or towed in a combination upon a highway provided such combination does not consist of more
than three vehicles or, in the case of hauling fresh, perishable fruits or vegetables from farm to the point
of first processing, not more than three wagons being towed by an implement of husbandry, or to a
vehicle operated under the terms of a special permit issued hereunder. Except for weight limits on Class
I highways under ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, §§ 15-100 et seq., the provisions of ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, §§
15-100 et seq. governing size, weight, and load do not apply to fire apparatus or emergency vehicles.

(C) (1) The provisions of ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, §§ 15-100 et seq. governing size, weight, and load
do not apply to any snow and ice removal equipment that is no more than 12 feet in width, if the
equipment displays flags at least 18 inches square mounted on the driver's side of the snow plow.

(2) These vehicles must be equipped with an illuminated rotating, oscillating, or flashing amber
light or lights, or a flashing amber strobe light or lights, mounted on the top of the cab and of sufficient
intensity to be visible at 500 feet in normal sunlight. If the load on the transport vehicle blocks the
visibility of the amber lighting from the rear of the vehicle, the vehicle must also be equipped with an
illuminated rotating, oscillating, or flashing amber light or lights, or a flashing amber strobe light or
lights, mounted on the rear of the load and of sufficient intensity to be visible at 500 feet in normal
sunlight.  (ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 15-101)

(D) No person shall use the highways under the jurisdiction of the city in violation of weight and
location restrictions and commercial vehicle restrictions set forth in any applicable ordinance.
Penalty, see § 70.99
Statutory reference:

Power of city to regulate loads, see ILCS Ch. 65, Act 5, § 11-40-1
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§ 75.11  PROJECTING LOADS ON PASSENGER VEHICLES.

No passenger-type vehicle shall be operated on any street with any load carried thereon extending
beyond the line of the fenders on the left side of the vehicle, nor extending more than six inches beyond
the line of the fenders on the right side thereof.
(ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 15-105)  Penalty, see § 70.99

§ 75.12  PROTRUDING MEMBERS OF VEHICLES.

No vehicle with boom, arm, drill rig, or other protruding component shall be operated upon the
highway unless the protruding component is fastened so as to prevent shifting, bouncing, or moving in
any manner.  (ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 15-106)  Penalty, see § 70.99

§ 75.13  SPILLING LOADS PROHIBITED.

(A) No vehicle shall be driven or moved on any street unless the vehicle is so constructed or loaded
as to prevent any of its load from dropping, shifting, leaking, or otherwise escaping therefrom, except
that sand may be dropped for the purpose of securing traction, or water or other substance may be
sprinkled on a roadway in cleaning or maintaining the roadway.

(B) No person shall operate on any highway any vehicle with any load unless the load and any
covering thereon is securely fastened so as to prevent the covering or load from becoming loose,
detached, or in any manner a hazard to other users of the highway.

(C) The state Department of Transportation shall adopt those rules and regulations it deems
appropriate which require the securing of steel rolls and other objects on flatbed trucks so as to prevent
injury to users of highways and damage to property.  Any person who operates a flatbed truck on any
highway in violation of the rules and regulations promulgated by the state Department of Transportation
under this division shall be punished as provided in § 70.99.
(ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 15-109)  Penalty, see § 70.99

§ 75.14  PUSHING OF DISABLED VEHICLES.

It is unlawful under any circumstances for any vehicle to push any other vehicle on or along any
highway outside an urban area in this city, except in an extreme emergency, and then the vehicle shall
not be pushed farther than is reasonably necessary to remove it from the roadway or from the immediate
hazard that exists.
(ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 15-114)  Penalty, see § 70.99
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CHAPTER 76:  MOTOR VEHICLE OFFENSES

Section

76.01 Reckless driving
76.02 (Reserved)
76.03 Accidents involving death or personal injuries
76.04 Duty to give information and render aid
76.05 Accident involving damage to vehicle
76.06 Duty upon damaging unattended vehicle or other property
76.07 Duty to report accident
76.08 False reports
76.09 When driver fails to report

Cross-reference:
Impoundment of motor vehicle, see Chapter 79

§ 76.01  RECKLESS DRIVING.

A person commits reckless driving if he or she:

(A) Drives any vehicle with a willful or wanton disregard for the safety of persons or property; or

(B) Knowingly drives a vehicle and uses an incline in a roadway, such as a railroad crossing, bridge
approach, or hill, to cause the vehicle to become airborne.
(ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 11-503(a))  Penalty, see § 70.99

§ 76.02  (RESERVED)

§ 76.03  ACCIDENTS INVOLVING DEATH OR PERSONAL INJURIES.

(A) The driver of any vehicle involved in a motor vehicle accident resulting in personal injury to
or death of any person shall immediately stop such vehicle at the scene of such accident, or as close
thereto as possible and shall then forthwith return to, and in every event shall remain at the scene of the
accident until the requirements of § 76.04 have been fulfilled.  Every such stop shall be made without
obstructing traffic more than is necessary.

69
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(B) (1) Any person who has failed to stop or to comply with the requirements of division (A) of
this section shall, as soon as possible but in no case later than one-half hour after such motor vehicle
accident, or, if hospitalized and incapacitated from reporting at any time during such period, as soon as
possible but in no case later than one-half hour after being discharged from the hospital, report the place
of the accident, the date, the approximate time, the driver's name and address, the registration number
of the vehicle driven, and the names of all other occupants of such vehicle, at a police station or sheriff's
office near the place where such accident occurred. No report made as required under this division (B)
shall be used, directly or indirectly, as a basis for the prosecution of any violation of division (A) of this
section.

(2) Any person arrested for violating this section is subject to chemical testing of his or her
blood, breath, other bodily substance, or urine for the presence of alcohol, other drug or drugs,
intoxicating compound or compounds, or any combination thereof, as provided in ILCS Ch. 625, Act
5, § 11-501.1, if the testing occurs within 12 hours of the time of the occurrence of the accident that led
to his or her arrest.  The person's driving privileges are subject to statutory summary suspension under
ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 11-501.1 if he or she fails testing or statutory summary revocation under ILCS
Ch. 625, Act 5, § 11-501.1 if he or she refuses to undergo the testing.

(C) For purposes of this section, PERSONAL INJURY shall mean any injury requiring immediate
professional treatment in a medical facility or doctor's office.

(D) The Secretary of State shall revoke the driving privilege of any person convicted of a violation
of this section.
(ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 11-401)  Penalty, see § 70.99

§ 76.04  DUTY TO GIVE INFORMATION AND RENDER AID.

(A) The driver of any vehicle involved in a motor vehicle accident resulting in injury to or death
of any person or damage to any vehicle which is driven or attended by any person shall give the driver's
name, address, registration number, and owner of the vehicle the driver is operating, and shall upon
request and if available, exhibit the driver's license to the person struck or the driver or occupant of or
person attending any vehicle collided with, and shall render to any person injured in the accident
reasonable assistance, including the carrying or the making of arrangements for the carrying of the
person to a physician, surgeon, or hospital for medical or surgical treatment, if it is apparent that such
treatment is necessary or if such carrying is requested by the injured person.

(B) If none of the persons entitled to information pursuant to this section is in condition to receive
and understand the information and no police officer is present, the driver, after rendering reasonable
assistance, shall forthwith report the accident at the Police Department, disclosing the information
required by this section.  (ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 11-403)  Penalty, see § 70.99
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§ 76.05  ACCIDENT INVOLVING DAMAGE TO VEHICLE.

(A) (1) The driver of any vehicle involved in a motor vehicle accident resulting only in damage to
a vehicle which is driven or attended by any person shall immediately stop such vehicle at the scene of
such motor vehicle accident or as close thereto as possible, but shall forthwith return to and in every
event shall remain at the scene of such motor vehicle accident until the requirements of § 76.04 have
been fulfilled. A driver does not violate this section if the driver moves the vehicle as soon as possible
off the highway to the nearest safe location on a exit ramp shoulder, frontage road, the nearest suitable
cross street, or other suitable location that does not obstruct traffic and remains at that location until the
driver has fulfilled the requirements of § 76.04. Every such stop shall be made without obstructing traffic
more than is necessary.  If a damaged vehicle is obstructing traffic lanes, the driver of the vehicle must
make every reasonable effort to move the vehicle or have it moved so as not to block the traffic lanes.

(2) Any person failing to comply with this section shall be guilty of a Class A misdemeanor.

(B) Upon conviction of a violation of this section, the court shall make a finding as to whether the
damage to a vehicle is in excess of $1,000, and in such case a statement of this finding shall be reported
to the Secretary of State with the report of conviction as required by ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 6-204.
Upon receipt of such report of conviction and statement of finding that the damage to a vehicle is in
excess of $1,000, the Secretary of State shall suspend the driver's license or any nonresident's driving
privilege.

(C) If any peace officer or highway authority official finds a vehicle standing upon a highway or
toll highway in violation of a prohibition, limitation, or restriction on stopping, standing, or parking
imposed under this Code or a disabled vehicle that obstructs the roadway of a highway or toll highway,
the peace officer or highway authority official is authorized to move the vehicle or to require the operator
of the vehicle to move the vehicle to the shoulder of the road, to a position where parking is permitted,
or to public parking or storage premises. The removal may be performed by, or under the direction of,
the peace officer or highway authority official or may be contracted for by local authorities. After the
vehicle has been removed, the peace officer or highway authority official shall follow appropriate
procedures, as provided in ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 4-203.

(D) A towing service, its officers, and its employees are not liable for loss of or damages to any real
or personal property that occurs as the result of the removal or towing of any vehicle under division (C)
of this section, as provided in subsection (b) of ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 4-213.
(ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 11-402)  Penalty, see § 70.99

§ 76.06  DUTY UPON DAMAGING UNATTENDED VEHICLE OR OTHER PROPERTY.

(A) The driver of any vehicle which collides with or is involved in a motor vehicle accident with
any vehicle which is unattended, or other property, resulting in any damage to such other vehicle or
property shall immediately stop and shall then and there either locate and notify the operator or owner 
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of such vehicle or other property of the driver's name, address, registration number and owner of the
vehicle the driver was operating or shall attach securely in a conspicuous place on or in the vehicle or
other property struck a written notice giving the driver's name, address, registration number and owner
of the vehicle the driver was driving and shall without unnecessary delay notify the nearest office of a
duly authorized police authority and shall make a written report of such accident when and as required
in § 76.07.  Every such stop shall be made without obstructing traffic more than is necessary.  If a
damaged vehicle is obstructing traffic lanes, the driver of the vehicle must make every reasonable effort
to move the vehicle or have it moved so as not to block the traffic lanes.

(B) Any person failing to comply with this section shall be guilty of a Class A misdemeanor.

(C) If any peace officer or highway authority official finds a vehicle standing upon a highway or
toll highway in violation of a prohibition, limitation, or restriction on stopping, standing, or parking
imposed under this Code or a disabled vehicle that obstructs the roadway of a highway or toll highway,
the peace officer or highway authority official is authorized to move the vehicle or to require the operator
of the vehicle to move the vehicle to the shoulder of the road, to a position where parking is permitted,
or to public parking or storage premises.  The removal may be performed by, or under the direction of,
the peace officer or highway authority official or may be contracted for by local authorities. After the
vehicle has been removed, the peace officer or highway authority official shall follow appropriate
procedures, as provided in ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 4-203.

(D) A towing service, its officers, and its employees are not liable for loss of or damages to any real
or personal property that occurs as the result of the removal or towing of any vehicle under division (C)
of this section, as provided in subsection (b) of ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 4-213.
(ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 11-404)  Penalty, see § 70.99

§ 76.07  DUTY TO REPORT ACCIDENT.

(A) The driver of a vehicle that is in any manner involved in an accident within this city, resulting
in injury to or death of any person, or in which damage to the property of any one person, including
himself, in excess of $1,500 (or $500 if any of the vehicles involved in the accident is subject to ILCS
Ch. 625, Act 5, § 7-601 but is not covered by a liability insurance policy in accordance with ILCS Ch.
625, Act 5, § 7-601) is sustained, shall, as soon as possible but not later than ten days after the accident,
forward a written report of the accident to the Police Department.

(B) Whenever a school bus is involved in an accident in this city, caused by a collision, a sudden
stop or otherwise, resulting in any property damage, personal injury or death and whenever an accident
occurs within 50 feet of a school bus in this city resulting in personal injury to or the death of any person
while awaiting or preparing to board the bus or immediately after exiting the bus, the driver shall as soon
as possible but not later than ten days after the accident, forward a written report to the Department of
Transportation.  If a report is also required under division (A) of this section, that report and the report
required by this division (B) shall be submitted on a single form.
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(C) The Chief of Police may require any driver, occupant or owner of a vehicle involved in an
accident of which report must be made as provided in this section or § 76.09 to file supplemental reports
whenever the original report is insufficient in the opinion of the Secretary of State or the Chief of Police,
and may require witnesses of the accident to submit written reports to the Chief of Police.  The report
may include photographs, charts, sketches, and graphs.

(D) Should the Chief of Police learn through other reports of accidents required by law of the
occurrence of an accident reportable under this chapter and the driver, owner, or witness has not
reported as required under divisions (A), (B) or (C) of this section or § 76.09, within the time specified,
the person is not relieved of the responsibility and the Chief of Police shall notify the person by first
class mail directed to his last known address of his legal obligation.  However, the notification is not a
condition precedent to impose the penalty for failure to report as provided in division (E) of this section.

(E) The Secretary of State shall suspend the driver's license or any non-resident's driving privilege
of any person who fails or neglects to make report of a traffic accident as required or as required by any
other law of this state.
(ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 11-406)  
Statutory reference:

Authorization for city to require accident reports, see ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 11-415

§ 76.08  FALSE REPORTS.

Any person who provides information in an oral or written report required by §§ 76.08 through
76.14 with knowledge or reason to believe that the information is false shall be fined as provided in
§ 70.99.
(ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 11-409)

§ 76.09  WHEN DRIVER FAILS TO REPORT.

Whenever the driver of a vehicle is physically incapable of making a required written accident report
and if there was another occupant in the vehicle at the time of the motor vehicle accident capable of
making a written report, the occupant shall make or cause the written report to be made.  If the driver
fails for any reason to make the report the owner of the vehicle involved in the motor vehicle accident
shall, as soon as practicable, make the report to the Police Department.
(ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 11-410)
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CHAPTER 77:  TRAFFIC SCHEDULES

Schedule

  I.  Through streets
 II.  Stop intersections
III.  Traffic lights
IV.  Speed regulations
 V.  One-way streets

SCHEDULE I.  THROUGH STREETS.

(A) Before entering upon or crossing any of the through streets, all vehicles shall come to a full stop
and give traffic moving along such through streets the right-of-way, except at the intersection of North
Street and Court Street, where two through streets intersect, all vehicles on each street shall come to a
full stop before proceeding across the other street and traffic approaching from the driver's right shall
have the right-of-way at the intersection of the through streets.  The following streets are hereby
designated as through streets:

Street Ord. No. Date Passed

Court Street  (State Highway No. 1) 148 8-18-52

Mill Street (except as to traffic moving to Court Street) 148 8-18-52

North State Road  (State Highway No. 130) 148 8-18-52

North Street 148 8-18-52

South Street (except as to traffic moving on Main Street and on
Court Street)

148 8-18-52

South Water Street — 1-6-58

(B) Any person violating any of the provisions of this chapter or failing to comply with any
provision thereof, shall be subject to a penalty of not less than $1 nor more than $200 and costs.
(Ord. 148, passed 8-18-52)
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SCHEDULE II.  STOP INTERSECTIONS.

All vehicles shall come to a full stop before a stop intersection and opposing traffic shall have the
right of way over such vehicles.

Street Location Ord. No. Date Passed

Alexander Lane Intersection of First Street 661 12-22-03

Bishop Street West Side of South Water Street to make
the intersection a four-way stop

776 6-24-13

Court Street Intersection of North Street 148 8-18-52

East Martin Intersection of North Main Street — 1-6-58

First Street Intersection of Plum Street 148 8-18-52

North First Street Intersection of West Fair Street for
northbound traffic

751 8-22-11

North First Street Intersection at West Martin Street for
both northbound and southbound traffic

762 5-29-12

Hilltop Drive Intersection of Loren Drive 661 12-22-03

Loren Drive Intersection of Alexander Lane 661 12-22-03

Loren Drive Intersection of First Street 661 12-22-03

South Middle Street Intersection of East Commerce Street for
both eastbound and westbound traffic

769 2-11-13

South Middle Street Intersection of East Commerce Street for
both northbound and southbound traffic

814 3-28-16

Mill Street Intersection of First Street 629 2-25-02

North Street Intersection of Court Street 148 8-18-52

South Second Street Intersection of West Commerce Street —  7-6-53

Sycamore Street Intersection of First Street 148 8-18-52

Terrace Road Intersection of Fisk Avenue 661 12-22-03

Walnut Street Intersection of Water Street  148 8-18-52  

Washington Street Intersection of East North Street — 7-6-53

South Water Street Intersection of Bishop Street for both
northbound and southbound traffic

776 6-24-13

Penalty, see Chapter 77, Schedule I. (B)
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SCHEDULE III.  TRAFFIC LIGHTS.

All vehicles shall come to a full stop on a red light or signal on the traffic lights at the intersections;
pedestrians using the cross walks at the intersections identified by painted lines on the pavement, while
the red light or signal is on, shall have the right-of-way over vehicles.

Intersection Ord. No. Date Passed

Court Street (State Highway No. 1) and Martin Street 148 8-18-52

Court Street (State Highway No. 1) and Butler Street 148 8-18-52

Penalty, see Chapter 77, Schedule I. (B)
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SCHEDULE IV.  SPEED REGULATIONS.

It shall be unlawful to drive any motor vehicle at a speed in excess of the speed limit as set forth on
the following streets of the city:

Street Location Speed   Ord. No. Date Passed

Helck Street All 25 mph 885;
913

5-11-20;
5-10-21

Koehler Street All 25 mph 885;
913

5-11-20;
5-10-21

North Street Court Street to west city limits 20 mph —      12-6-54

Stephenson Street All 25 mph 885;
913

5-11-20;
5-10-21

South Water Street All 25 mph 762 5-29-12

Penalty, see Chapter 77, Schedule I. (B)
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SCHEDULE V.  ONE-WAY STREETS.

The following streets and/or alleys are hereby designated as one-way.

Street Location Ord. No. Date Passed

Butler Street South Second Street to South Court Street 148 8-2-52

Penalty, see Chapter 77, Schedule I. (B)
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CHAPTER 78:  PARKING SCHEDULES

Schedule

I.  Parking prohibited

SCHEDULE I.  PARKING PROHIBITED.

Parking shall be prohibited on the following streets:

Street  Side Location
Ord.
No.

Date
Passed

Butler Street South Between South Second Street to South
Court Street

—  8-2-54

West Butler Street 751 8-22-11

East Commerce
Street

North Between Main Street and Middle Street 816 4-11-16

First Street East Between North Street to South Street —  9-4-56

Helck Street East
and
West

Entire street 913 5-10-21

Illinois Route 1 Both From North Street to Illinois Route 130 663 3-22-04

Illinois Route 130 Both Between Illinois Route 1 and North
Corporate City Limits

391-A 12-27-79 

Koehler Street North
and
South

Entire street 913 5-10-21

Mill Street North Between North (State Highway No. 1)
and Main Street

148  8-18-52

North Street South Between Third Street to the West City
Limits

—  9-17-55
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Street  Side Location
Ord.
No.

Date
Passed

West North Street North Between First Street and Second Street 815 3-28-16

Oxford Street West Between the intersections of Oxford
Street with Bishop Street and Park Street

727 4-27-09

Second Street West Between South Street and Commerce
Street

148  8-18-52

South Street South Between Court Street and Main Street 148  8-18-52

South Third   
Street  

East Entire street — 12-17-56

Spring Street North Between North First Street and Old State
Road

652 5-27-03

Stephenson Street North
and
South

Entire street 913 5-10-21

West Martin Street North Between Third Street and North State
Road

885 5-11-20

West North Street North
and
South

Between Court Street (IL Rt. 1) and First
Street; except parking will be allowed on
the south side of West North Street on
Sundays between 8:00 a.m. and Noon

903 12-28-20

West Sycamore
Street

North Between First Street and North State
Road

781 4-14-14

(B) (1) Any person violating any of the provisions of this table or failing to comply with any
provision thereof, except pertaining to Illinois Route 1, shall be subject to a penalty of not less than $1
nor more than $200 and costs.

(2) Any person who violates the parking provision pertaining to Illinois Route 1 is guilty of
a misdemeanor and on conviction thereof shall be punished by a fine of not less than $50 nor more than
$200 for each offense.
(Ord. 148, passed 8-18-52; Am. Ord. 663, passed 3-22-04)
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CHAPTER 79:  IMPOUNDMENT OF MOTOR VEHICLE

Section

79.01 Definitions
79.02 Violations authorizing impoundment
79.03 Seizure and impoundment
79.04 Administrative hearing
79.05 Disposition of impounded motor vehicle
79.06 Motor vehicle possession
79.07 Towing agency
79.08 Refund of administrative fee

Cross-reference:
Motor vehicle offenses, see Chapter 76

§ 79.01  DEFINITIONS.

For the purposes of this chapter, the following definitions shall apply unless the context clearly
indicates or requires a different meaning.

BUSINESS DAY. Any day in which the offices of City Hall are open to the public for a minimum
of eight hours.

LEVEL 1 ADMINISTRATIVE FEE.  Means and shall be $200.

LEVEL 2 ADMINISTRATIVE FEE. Means and shall be $100.

MOTOR VEHICLE. Every vehicle which is self-propelled, including but not limited to automobiles,
trucks, vans, motorcycles, and motor scooters.

OWNER OF RECORD. The record title holder(s) of the motor vehicle as registered with the
Secretary of State, State of Illinois; or if not registered in Illinois, the particular state where the motor
vehicle is registered.
(Ord. 813, passed 2-8-16)
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§ 79.02  VIOLATIONS AUTHORIZING IMPOUNDMENT.

(A) Any motor vehicle, operated with the express or implied permission of the owner of record, that
is used in connection with the following violations, or any amendments or revisions to the listed statutory
provisions, shall be subject to seizure and impoundment by the city, and the owner of record of the
motor vehicle shall be liable to the city for a Level 1 administrative fee, as provided for in this chapter,
in addition to any towing and storage fees as hereinafter provided.

State Statute Violation

ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 6-303 Driving while license revoked

ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 11-204 Fleeing or attempting to elude a peace officer

ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 11-501 Driving under the influence alcohol/drugs

ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 11-503 Reckless driving or aggravated reckless driving

ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 11-506 Street racing; aggravated street racing

ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 11-601.5 Speeding in excess of 40 mph Class A misdemeanor

ILCS Ch. 720, Act 5, § 11-6 Indecent solicitation of a child

ILCS Ch. 720, Act 5, § 12-2 Aggravated assault

ILCS Ch. 720, Act 5, § 12-3.05 Aggravated battery

ILCS Ch. 720, Act 5, § 12-3.05(a)(4) Aggravated batter of a senior citizen

ILCS Ch. 720, Act 5, § 12-3.05(b) Aggravated battery of a child

ILCS Ch. 720, Act 5, § 12-3.05(e) Aggravated battery with a firearm

ILCS Ch. 720, Act 5, § 16-25 Retail theft of merchandise exceeding $150.00 value

ILCS Ch. 720, Act 5, § 18-1 Robbery

ILCS Ch. 720, Act 5, § 18-2 Armed robbery

ILCS Ch. 720, Act 5, § 19-1 Burglary

ILCS Ch. 720, Act 5, § 19-3 Residential burglary

ILCS Ch. 720, Act 5, § 20-1 Arson

ILCS Ch. 720, Act 5, § 20-1.1 Aggravated arson

ILCS Ch. 720, Act 5, § 20-2 Possession of explosives or incendiary devices

ILCS Ch. 720, Act 5, § 21-1 Criminal damage to property

ILCS Ch. 720, Act 5, § 21-1.01 Criminal damage to government property

ILCS Ch. 720, Act 5, § 24-1 Unlawful use of weapons

ILCS Ch. 720, Act 5, § 24-3.1 Unlawful possession of firearms and firearm ammunition
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State Statute Violation

ILCS Ch. 720, Act 5, § 24-3.3 Unlawful sale or delivery of firearms on the premises of a
school

ILCS Ch. 720, Act 5, § 25-1 Mob action

ILCS Ch. 720, Act 550, § 4 Possession of more than 10 grams of any substances
containing cannabis

ILCS Ch. 720, Act 550, § 5 Manufacture or delivery of cannabis

ILCS Ch. 720, Act 550, § 5.1 Cannabis trafficking

ILCS Ch. 720, Act 550, § 8 Unauthorized production or possession of Cannabis Sativa
plant

ILCS Ch. 720, Act 550, § 15.2 Delivery of cannabis on school grounds

ILCS Ch. 720, Act 570, § 401 Manufacture or delivery of unauthorized controlled
substance

ILCS Ch. 720, Act 570, § 401.1 Controlled substance trafficking

ILCS Ch. 720, Act 570, § 402 Unauthorized possession under the Controlled Substance
Act

(B) For any motor vehicle, operated with the express or implied permission of the owner of record,
that is used in connection with any custodial violations not listed in division (A) above, but still results
in seizure and impoundment by the city, the owner of record of the motor vehicle shall be liable to the
city for a Level 2 administrative fee, as provided for in this chapter, in addition to any towing and
storage fees as hereinafter provided.
(Ord. 813, passed 2-8-16)

§ 79.03  SEIZURE AND IMPOUNDMENT.

(A) Whenever a police officer has reason to believe that a motor vehicle is subject to seizure and
impoundment pursuant to this chapter, the police officer shall provide for the towing of the motor vehicle
to a facility approved by the city. This chapter shall not apply if the motor vehicle used in the violation
was stolen at the time and the theft was reported to the appropriate police authorities within 24 hours
after the theft was discovered or reasonably should have been discovered.

(B) The police officer shall notify any person identifying himself as the owner of the motor vehicle
or any person who is found to be in control of the motor vehicle at the time of the alleged violation, if
there is such a person, of the fact of the seizure and of the motor vehicle owner’s right to request an
administrative hearing to be conducted under this chapter.
(Ord. 813, passed 2-8-16)
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§ 79.04  ADMINISTRATIVE HEARING.

(A) At the time of impoundment or within five business days after a motor vehicle is seized and
impounded pursuant to this chapter, the city shall notify by personal service or by certified mail to the
owner of record of the owner’s right to request a hearing to challenge whether a violation of this chapter
has occurred. The owner of record seeking a hearing must file a written request for a hearing with the
Chief of Police, or his or her designee, no later than five business days after notice was mailed. The
hearing date must be scheduled no more than ten business days after the request for a hearing has been
filed. All interested persons shall be given a reasonable opportunity to be heard at the hearing. The
formal rules of evidence shall not apply at the hearing and hearsay evidence shall be admissible.

(B) If, after the hearing, the hearing officer determines by a preponderance of the evidence that the
motor vehicle was used in violation of this chapter, then the hearing officer shall enter an order finding
the owner of record of the motor vehicle liable to the city for the applicable administrative fee.

(C) If, after a hearing, the hearing officer does not determine by a preponderance of the evidence
that the motor vehicle was used in such violation, the hearing officer shall enter an order finding for the
owner and for the return of the motor vehicle.

(D) If the owner of record requests a hearing but fails to appear at the hearing or fails to request a
hearing in a timely manner, the owner of record shall be deemed to have waived his or her right to a
hearing and the hearing officer shall enter a default order in favor of the city in the amount of the
administrative fee. However, if the owner of record pays such administrative fee and the motor vehicle
is returned to the owner, no default order needs to be entered if the owner is informed of his or her right
to a hearing, in which case an order of liability shall be deemed to have been made when the city
receives proof of notification.

(E) If a bond in the amount equal to the applicable administrative fee is posted with the Police
Department, the impounded motor vehicle shall be released to the owner of record. The owner of the
motor vehicle shall still be liable to the towing agent for any applicable towing fees.

(F) If an administrative fee is imposed for a violation of this chapter, the bond will be forfeited to
the city; however if a violation of this chapter is not proven by a preponderance of the evidence, the
bond will be returned to the person posting the bond. All bond money posted pursuant to this chapter
shall be held by the city until the hearing officer issues a decision, or, if there is a judicial review, until
the court of jurisdiction issues its orders.
(Ord. 813, passed 2-8-16)

§ 79.05  DISPOSITION OF IMPOUNDED MOTOR VEHICLE.

An administrative fee imposed pursuant to this chapter shall constitute a debt due and owing to the
city. A motor vehicle impounded pursuant to this chapter shall remain impounded until:
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(A) The administrative fee is paid to the city and all applicable towing fees are paid to the towing
agent, in which case the owner of record shall be given possession of the motor vehicle; or

(B) A bond in an amount equal to the applicable administrative towing fee is posted with the Police
Department and all applicable towing fees are paid to the towing agent, at which time the motor vehicle
will be released to the owner or record; or

(C) The motor vehicle is deemed abandoned, in which case the motor vehicle shall be disposed of
in the manner provided by law for the disposition of abandoned motor vehicles.
(Ord. 813, passed 2-8-16)

§ 79.06  MOTOR VEHICLE POSSESSION.

Any motor vehicle that is not reclaimed within 30 days after the expiration of the time during which
the owner of record may seek judicial review of the city’s action under this chapter, or the time at which
a final judgment is rendered against an owner of record who is in default, may be disposed of as an
unclaimed motor vehicle as provided by law, provided, however, that where proceedings have been
instituted under state and federal drug asset forfeiture laws, the subject motor vehicle may not be
disposed of by the city except as consistent with those proceedings.
(Ord. 813, passed 2-8-16)

§ 79.07  TOWING AGENCY.

(A) It shall be the duty of the towing or storage company in possession of the motor vehicle to
obtain documentation issued by the Police Department confirming compliance with the foregoing
requirements, and retain photocopies of that documentation in their files for a period of not less than six
months following release of the motor vehicle. The foregoing information shall be made available to the
authorities of the city for inspection and copying, upon their request, by the towing or storage company.
The towing or storage company is prohibited from releasing any motor vehicle they may town within
the city until and unless they obtain documentation as aforesaid.

(B) The towing or storage company shall be entitled to receive a reasonable fee from the owner or
person entitled to possession of any such motor vehicle for each day or fraction thereof that the motor
vehicle shall have remained stored.

(C) The fees in this section shall be in addition to any fee levied or assessed against the owner or
operator of the motor vehicle by reason of violation of any ordinance or statute and any arrest which may
have resulted from such violation.
(Ord. 813, passed 2-8-16)
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§ 79.08  REFUND OF ADMINISTRATIVE FEE.

In the event a judgment of “not guilty” is entered by a court of competent jurisdiction on all
underlying charges that could have resulted in the impoundment of a motor vehicle, then within 30 days
of presentation of a certified copy of the judgment to the city Police Department, any administrative fees
or posted bonds obtained by the city shall be refunded to the paying party.
(Ord. 813, passed 2-8-16)
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